Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: ERROR!: System incorrectly mounts EXT3 filesystem as EXT2

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3

    ERROR!: System incorrectly mounts EXT3 filesystem as EXT2

    hi! i've installed knoppix 3.2 and everything works fine... <suspense>... except... i get the following warning in syslog (dmesg):

    Code:
    EXT2-fs warning (device ide0(3,5)): ext2_read_super: mounting ext3 filesystem as ext2
    when i installed knoppix i specified the root partition (/dev/hda5) to use ext3 as filesystem and then afterward added and mounted my existing '/home/' partition (/dev/hda6) as ext3. firstly, here are the relevant parts of my /etc/fstab:

    Code:
    ...
    /dev/hda5  /          ext3  defaults,errors=remount-ro  0  1
    /dev/hda6  /home  ext3  defaults                               0  1
    ...
    the output from 'mount':

    Code:
    # mount
    /dev/hda5 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    /dev/hda6 on /home type ext3 (rw)
    BUT! look at this... the output of 'cat /proc/mounts':


    Code:
    # cat /proc/mounts
    rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
    /dev/root / ext2 rw 0 0
    none /proc proc rw 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts rw 0 0
    /dev/hda6 /home ext3 rw 0 0
    it looks like there seems to be only one instance of kjournald running (for my /home/ partition i assume)

    Code:
    # ps aux| grep kjournald
    root       137  0.0  0.0     0    0 ?        SW   18:27   0:00 [kjournald]
    root      1670  0.0  0.0  1288  424 pts/0    R    21:29   0:00 grep kjournald
    when i have the occasional crash, fsck is run on /dev/hda5, but never on /dev/hda6. yet both are supposed to be journaling. i have had corruption on my root partition as a result.

    i've done some searching on google and groups.google (see second item below 'old stuff' http://groups.google.co.nz/groups?hl...1%40zip.com.au) and it seems that the problem is that the kernel is loaded, but it can't access the root partition using ext3, because it doesn't have ext3 support compiled in - as ext3 is compiled as a module. so instead it mounts it as ext2. so i could presumably compile a kernel with ext3 built in and run lilo. call me picky, but i really think that if knoppix allows you to format a root partition as ext3, it should mount it as ext3 in the future...

    the other alternative is something to do with the way initrd works, but i'm completely lost when it comes to that.

    what should i do?

    sorry for the long post. i wanted to make sure i supplied all the info i could.

    cheers
    julian

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3
    after some other problems i had, i recompiled a kernel (standard kernel-source-2.4.20 from debian) using the .config in /usr/src/linux/. i compiled ext3 into the kernel (not a module). that seems to have fixed it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by gwylion
    after some other problems i had, i recompiled a kernel (standard kernel-source-2.4.20 from debian) using the .config in /usr/src/linux/. i compiled ext3 into the kernel (not a module). that seems to have fixed it.
    knx-hdinstall should ahve created an good initrd that should ahve soled this problem ...

    Hm...

    Could you say exactly which version you did use ?

    And that you did change nothing on system after installation ?

    cu

    Fabian

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3
    i used KNOPPIX_V3.2 -2003-03-28-EN.iso which admittedly is not the latest and greatest, so it might have been fixed since then. however, since i haven't tried the latest version yet, for all i know it may still have the same issue. it's a bit subtle and i don't know how many people would have picked it up... if it wasn't for my dodgy hardware causing the occasional crash, i probably would never have noticed.

    and no, i did not change the system at all after installation.

Similar Threads

  1. Ext3 filesystem automatic reboot is it possible?
    By beakmyn in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2004, 03:37 PM
  2. ext3 as ext2 HELP!!!
    By Forcemaster in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2004, 01:27 PM
  3. ext3-FS mounted as ext2
    By hamatoma in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2004, 05:11 PM
  4. EXT3, Reiserfs, xfs...any comments on the filesystem types?
    By champagnemojo in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-21-2004, 05:52 PM
  5. ext3 mounted as ext2(solved)
    By bongski55 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-28-2003, 05:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •