Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Need help recovering 2GB of Harddrive space

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    17

    Need help recovering 2GB of Harddrive space

    When I went through the knx-hdinstall, I left
    all the partitions the way they were.


    so I have
    hda1 as the boot
    hda5 as the swap
    hda6 as an extra partition that was there.

    if I do $ cat /proc/partitions i get
    major minor #blocks name

    3 0 5004720 hda
    3 1 2887888 hda1
    3 5 249448 hda5
    3 6 1867288 hda6

    In my /mnt I have hda1 and hda6 listed and I can access them, but
    anything that I put into hda6 is seen as part of hda1.

    When I use KDiskFree. It only recognizes hda1

    so I am missing 2GB od space

    can anyone help me recover the extra 2GB that are hidden?

    thanks in advance for your help,

    Luis

    P.S. A simple step by step solution would be appreciated...I'm still learning linux.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    You have to mount hda6. Use the mount command in a console window to see what is mounted on your system. If /dev/hda6 is not there then as root mount /dev/hda6 /mnt/hda6 will mount and now anything you save to /mnt/hda6 will be on the device hda6. If you want to use the space all the time you should modify the /etc/fstab to mount /dev/hda6 on boot.
    [edit]
    ie. remove the # from the /dev/hda6 line that should already be there.
    [/edit]

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    17
    Stephen,

    The mounting worked! Thank you so much. One more question
    This is my fstab file should I also uncomment the hda1 above hda6? Becuase It is already uncommented once

    # /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
    #
    # filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
    /dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/hda5 none swap sw 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
    # partitions found by Knoppix
    #/dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ext3 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    /dev/hda6 /mnt/hda6 ext3 noauto,users,exec 0 0

    or should I just leave everything else as it is?

    Luis

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,479
    You just need it there once. Knoppix puts all partitions it finds in the fstab commented out. Good luck with Knoppix and post back if you have any problems.

Similar Threads

  1. Recovering my system and HDD space
    By tycopolis in forum Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 11:54 PM
  2. HELP on recovering files.....
    By tkurine in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2005, 04:42 PM
  3. knoppix tools for recovering windows
    By i3rutus in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-28-2004, 12:51 PM
  4. need help recovering passwords on 2000 pro nt.
    By computerman0216 in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2004, 04:42 AM
  5. recovering files
    By fussyoldfart in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2003, 08:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •