Thread: reading the register of windows from knoppix ??

reading the register of windows from knoppix ??

Hello to evry one

i'm new to knoppix and linux but i tried it and i like it a lot.

now i have this problem.
    the windows computer of a frend of my crased but thanks to knoppix i'am able to start it whit the cd .
    i saved the data he needed.
    But he is not able to find the serial number of the windows cd so he can't install it .

So my question is it posible to read the serial number that is writen in the register of windows from knoppix .

if so can some one tel me how.

Thank for your time and sorry form my bad english.

Scorp

Sorry, but your friend is out of luck. Windows 2K/XP only stores a hash of the Product ID code. Windows 95/98 do store the Product ID code in the registry.

You might try copying the registry hive files (%windows%\system32\config\[system|software] to working XP machine and run 'regedit'. From there go to File->Load Hive and select on of the two files. It will ask for a name to give it. I will load that file under "local machine\your name". If the file was corrupt, it will let you know and try to fix it. *WARNING* make sure to select the key "your name" and select File->Unload Hive before closing regedit. Otherwise, XP will try to keep the file as part of its registry. I would suggest loading and unloading both files, if either were found to be corrupt take the 'fixed' versions and copy them back to the crashed machines HD. Sometimes this will allow the machine to boot.