Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: CD player/sound card not work.

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15

    CD player/sound card not work.

    I have successfully installed Knoppix 3.7 to HD, connected to a windows printer. can get to my windows HD. Knoppix works without a problem.
    I just installed a CD player and sound card.
    No sound.
    How do I mount?? or get CD player to work.
    I tried looking in control center but could not find anything that looked right.
    Path forward??
    Bob

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    Hold it. This is a HD install?

    Did you install the sound card before or after you installed Knoppix?

    How are you trying to run the CD player?

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15

    Answer

    I iInstalled CD player before the HD install of Knoppix (it was in the box). I installed the sound card after because I could not get the MB builtin sound to work using XMMS but I can not get XMMS to work with sound card either. I was going to put in a DVD player but thought I should see about the CD first.
    Bob

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    It sounds like the autorecognition stuff hasn't run after the install of the soundcard. This is normal in beginners (I think) and Debian HD installs.

    I know someone posted some way of getting it to run again in this very forum. You could try a search.

    In the meantime, make sure the on board soundcard is disabled in the bios.

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15

    Weak sound

    MB soundwas on I turned off.
    If it boots up as just Linux (2.4.27) there is no sound. Sound system error "Error while init sound driver. Could not connect to jackd. Will continue using null output."
    If I boot it up as the last version listed (start up says it is 2.6.9) I have weak sound. With everything at 100% it is not too loud.
    Can I make it boot up as the last one listed on lilo?
    Is there any way to turn it up?
    TXS
    Bob

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    Can I make it boot up as the last one listed on lilo?
    Sure. Just post your /etc/lilo.conf here and someone will edit it.

    Is there any way to turn it up?
    Almost certainly. By default, just about all the mixers start with a low volume (so as not to deafen the unwary).

    As a first step, go to

    Kmenu>Multimedia>KMixer (a small icon will appear on your taskbar, usually bottom right). Right click on it and select Show mixer window and whack the volume up.

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15

    Sound

    I have sound, have volume control on task bar.

    Found lilo.conf
    Not sure how to paste here but I can edit it with mcedit or xedit.
    How do I paste it or list it here? Or can just delete the lines image/boot/vmlinux-2.4.27 etc down to the 2.6.9 section and leave it in? Or can I comment them out like in DOS? If so what is the comment character?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    15

    I found some answers

    Use the # for comment lines. I put one in front of all lines I did not want to see at startup. I added a "delay=100"
    It says to run lilo after editing. I assume I do that from the directory I am in after I finish editing.
    Bob

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    Not sure how to paste here but I can edit it with mcedit or xedit.
    I've never used either of those editors, but, generally (and this applies just about throughout *nixes) put the cirsor where you want to copy from, left click and move the mouse to highlight everything you want to copy, move the cursor to where you want it pasted and -- depending on your mouse -- either middle click or left and right click together.

    It's one of the (many) things I miss when I'm forced to use Windows.

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,516
    Just a short note, on most scrollmice the wheel is a third button.
    just try marking desired text and move to where you want it and try clicking the wheel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Keyboard won't work, then wireless card then sound!
    By Jonny_S in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2006, 05:38 PM
  2. How I got my sound card to work
    By croeiii in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2005, 05:32 AM
  3. Audio player do not work well.
    By President in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 02:54 AM
  4. SOund card fun:Sound Blaster Audigy OEM also Radeon 9600Pro
    By Battousai in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-08-2004, 10:17 PM
  5. real player to work with just the CD
    By electronicjason in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2003, 11:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •