Thread: About learning game development !

Junior Member registered user

About learning game development !

Hello all,

I have downloaded Knoppix 3.8.2 CD and running on my harddisk with fromhd cheatcode and with persisitent home ...

Now, I am a C++ programmer and want to learn game programming on Linux. I tried to work on some examples with SDL and found that it is not included in knoppix..My question is : are there similar libraries included in knoppix? I dont have internet at home, so I cannot install with klik. I would also like to know about some internet resources i can use for learning game development with available libraries in knoppix.

thanks,
    Hardik

Ok may be I have asked the question in the wrong forum. I will try putting this in Games forum and see if I am lucky enough.

Hi all,

I got reply from linxquesitons that I require a library like OpenGl for graphics and GTK+ for gui... i searched the packages and did not find OpenGl in knoppix...can anybody suggest what should I do for graphics programming on knoppix ??

i guess I can replace GTK+ with QT3 whcih is included in the cd ... am I right ?

and this time please do reply....

hardik.

Probably knoppix isn't the best distro for programming, unless you install to the hard drive. Then, you can apt-get whatever packages you need for your tasks.

thaks Phobos,

ok I can understand this but my problem is I dont have much space for installing knoppix on my harddisk...i need to buy new harddisk for that can you tell me the minimum size knoppix needs for hd installation. I guess it is 5 GB and at the moment it is too much for me...

hardik

Senior Member registered user
    Quote Originally Posted by rangalo
    ok I can understand this but my problem is I dont have much space for installing knoppix on my harddisk...i need to buy new harddisk for that can you tell me the minimum size knoppix needs for hd installation. I guess it is 5 GB and at the moment it is too much for me...