Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BIOS Config

BIOS Config

Hello. I am very new to the world of Linux, and am a Windows XP user. I have sucessfully booted Knoppix on my computer. I was just wondering:

a) What is the purpose of changing the BIOS, so Knoppix can't use the HDD? Can't Windows XP and Knoppix share the same HDD?

b) How do I change the BIOS, to fit the Knoppix recommendation?

Administrator Site Admin-
    Other than perhaps changing the boot order so to be sure the CD boots first, why are you under the impression that the BIOS has anything to do with your use of Knoppix? There is a very simple issue of writing to an NYFS patrtition: don't do it or Linux will corrupt your partition. Why? Because Microsoft has put a lot of work into making sure that happens, and is keeping a lot of information about the NTFS file system propritary. Knoppix has managed to safely read from NTFS partitions (safe enough, since the disk never changes). And Linux / Knoppix can safely write to FAT partitions just fine. I made a FAT partition and do it all the time, and I've never done anything in my BIOS to let this happen.

Re: BIOS Config

Alright, so I m basically saying:

a) If I do not change the BIOS, will Knoppix corrupt my HDD that has all my Windows files on it?
    b) How do I make a disc partition, and configure it so that only Knoppix can use it?

Re: BIOS Config

Quote Originally Posted by vikramkr
    a) If I do not change the BIOS, will Knoppix corrupt my HDD that has all my Windows files on it?
    b) How do I make a disc partition, and configure it so that only Knoppix can use it?
    If you do not change your BIOS, Knoppix will not corrupt your WinXP NTFS partition.
    If you do change your BIOS, Knoppix will not corrupt your WinXP NTFS partition.