Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Knoppix and VMWare Workstation 4

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Knoppix and VMWare Workstation 4

    Hi, I am somewhat of a linux noob, but I was still hoping to use a knoppix CD on a VM Workstation.

    But whatever I do, I cant get to boot...

    On boot I get the msg:

    (just under the penguin image)
    PCI: Cannot allocate ressource region 4 of device 0000:00:07.1
    audit(1118389872.756:0): initialized

    (Then normal Knoppix test from Welcome to the KNOPPIX live Linux-on-CD to Starting init process.)
    INIT: version 2.78-knoppi booting
    /etc/init.d/rcS: line 43: 1156 Segmentation fault $i start
    INIT: Entering runlevel: 5
    INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    (same line with Id=3 than 4 than 2)
    INIT: no more processes lest in this runlevel
    (and system stops there with the blinking line on the next line)
    (a few minutes later it does the INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes lines again)
    I don't understand.

    I have tried
    Knoppix 3.8.2 and 3.9,
    The virtual HD is IDE(0:0) with 4 gigs and has allocated the memory, I have tried with 192 Ram and 256 RAM... Autorun CD is disabled and I have the virtual CDs in IDE and reading the ISOs.

    Cant find the error messages anywhere on google, can someone help me please?

    Thanks, and long live the knoppix community

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    ps

    oh i am running VMW 4 on a laptop, i used to have the VMWare4 and a prior version of knoppix on a desktop about a year ago and it rocked

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    ...

    Anyonw have advice? Or if i am in the wrong forum/topic?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2
    Can you provide us with exact version and what are you running the image as ie. cd, iso, etc.?

    I have run it in 4.5 and the newest build 5.0 and works just fine. I just wondering if you downloaded a bad copy.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2
    Can you provide us with exact version and what are you running the image as ie. cd, iso, etc.?

    I have run it in 4.5 and the newest build 5.0 and works just fine. I just wondering if you downloaded a bad copy.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    info

    VMWARE
    Version 4.0.5 build-6030

    Knoppix:
    KNOPPIX_V3.8.2-2005-05-05-EN.iso

    I am running this comboon a laptop can that make a difference?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3
    I have run Knoppix version 3.6 (As far as I can remember) using vmware 4 without any problems. I just tried the latest knoppix release (3.9) and get exactly the same error as you do.

    Would be interested to hear if you get it to work.

    Mike.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2
    Hi, I've encountered the same problem.

    Using BitTorrent downloaded Knoppix 4.0.2 CD as an ISO in VMWare 4.0.5 (i.e. not burned) - forgive me if I have missed something that says I cant run it directly from the ISO. VMWare is running in WinXP SP2 / Athlon XP 2100 / 1Gb RAM...

    On the welcome screen it does the ramdisk etc, then -

    Code:
    Done.
    Starting init process.
    /etc/init.d/rcS: line 43: 1183 Segmentation fault       $i start
    INIT: Entering runlevel: 5
    INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    INIT: Id "3" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    INIT: Id "2" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    INIT: Id "4" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    INIT: no more processes left in this runlevel
    Then it seems to hang/wait (No CPU)

    Any thoughts would be most appreciated

    Cheers -Ben

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2
    p.s. tried burning, still doesnt work - same error

    Works fine from my Dell laptop, which is the most important thing!

Similar Threads

  1. Installing vmware workstation under 6.0.1 - tips?
    By Capricorny in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-12-2009, 06:24 PM
  2. Logging into Knoppix using XP workstation
    By chrs3000gt in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2008, 12:19 AM
  3. How to install Parallels Workstation in Knoppix 5.1
    By wijaya in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-27-2007, 09:57 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2005, 08:21 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-07-2003, 10:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •