Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unable to browse the internet with Knoppix version 3.9

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    17

    Unable to browse the internet with Knoppix version 3.9

    Can browse with Knoppix 3.8.1 with both Firefox and Konqouor. Installed Knoppix 3.9 error messages "can not find www.knoppix.net" or any other web site. On network card configuration this is what the Terminal message reads from Netcardconfig: "Sending DHCP broadcast from local device eth0failed to connect to local host:bootpc: Network is ureachable". Using Knoppix 3.9 as a "live" OS it connects fine. Is there some kind of bug when installing Knoppix 3.9 to my HDD?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    568
    Yes. To quote Martin Kranzkowski in this thread:

    cause of this problem is, that interface "lo" is not properly deconfigured on system shutdown. Thus, "lo" won't be properly configured on system bootup. /etc/network/run/ifstate has to be deleted on system shutdown by /etc/init.d/ifupdown-clean. The link from /etc/rcS.d/S18ifupdown-clean to /etc/init.d/ifupdown-clean is missing.

    You can add this link for proper function, or - if You dont know how to do this - just reinstall ifupdown via apt (--reinstall). This will fix it, too.

    Klaus Knopper is already informed of this problem and will fix it in the next installer.
    Please post your results back, as I installed Kanotix over Knoppix before trying this fix.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by eco2geek
    Yes. To quote Martin Kranzkowski in this thread:

    cause of this problem is, that interface "lo" is not properly deconfigured on system shutdown. Thus, "lo" won't be properly configured on system bootup. /etc/network/run/ifstate has to be deleted on system shutdown by /etc/init.d/ifupdown-clean. The link from /etc/rcS.d/S18ifupdown-clean to /etc/init.d/ifupdown-clean is missing.

    You can add this link for proper function, or - if You dont know how to do this - just reinstall ifupdown via apt (--reinstall). This will fix it, too.

    Klaus Knopper is already informed of this problem and will fix it in the next installer.
    Please post your results back, as I installed Kanotix over Knoppix before trying this fix.
    Reinstalled the whole release 3.9, but this time I used the beginer, multi-user and detect hardware install method and that took care of my lost internet connection.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1

    Seems to be working

    I had the same problem as described before.
    The solution creating a symbolic link /etc/rcS.d/S18ifupdown-clean seems to be working. ....

    Thanks for help.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5
    Oh great, and I just posted in the other thread about this
    Can anyone here tell me how to do this step by step?
    Thanks
    Radix

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    1,510
    As root:
    ln -s /etc/init.d/ifupdown-clean /etc/rcS.d/S18ifupdown-clean

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to browse the Web with Live CDs
    By uncleelvis in forum Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 09:05 AM
  2. Can't Browse the Internet
    By YareDaze in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2007, 09:51 PM
  3. No Internet connection on Knoppix Version 4.0
    By siggy in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2005, 11:02 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-12-2005, 02:13 PM
  5. Unable to use DSL Internet connection on 3.6
    By Teccart1 in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-15-2004, 03:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •