Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: two different download sizes

two different download sizes

hi

im brand new to knoppix and linux in general and have just downloaded the .iso file. However i'm told that the file is 4MB instead of the near 700MB size i was told when i started to download it. What's wrong? or will it all be ok when i burn it using Nero 5?

I need to get knoppix to try and get my files off WinXP that wont boot!

thanks

Senior Member registered user
    Welcome to Knoppix.net.
    It is most certainly supposed to be just under 700MB. Check out the http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Downloading_FAQ as it has answers to question you might have. Also search the forums for 'burn' or 'burning' as other people have already asked & answered many questions about getting & burning the Knoppix CD ISO image.

i went ahead and burned the .iso to CD and have just put it into my broken laptop. Everything was going well but now am stuck here:

audit(1119382597.253:0): initialized

Welcome to the KNOPPIX live Linux-on-CD!

Scanning for USB/Firewire devices...Done
    Accessing KNOPPIX CDROM at /dev/hdc..._

What's gone wrong? Its a partial download right?

First please check the md5sum of the downloaded ISO file. Such infomation is indeed listed at the Downloading FAQ that I linked to. You must confirm the md5sum as it will let you & us know that you correctly downloaded the ISO file.

See http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/...ing_howto.html for info on checking the md5sum. The string of letters & numbers that you create must match the one listsed http://debian.ams.sunysb.edu/knoppix...-27-EN.iso.md5

Administrator Site Admin-
    Quote Originally Posted by ireland
    i went ahead and burned the .iso to CD and have just put it into my broken laptop. Everything was going well but now am stuck here:

audit(1119382597.253:0): initialized

Welcome to the KNOPPIX live Linux-on-CD!

Scanning for USB/Firewire devices...Done
    Accessing KNOPPIX CDROM at /dev/hdc..._