Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: is this sensible for fstab workaround?

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    11

    is this sensible for fstab workaround?

    i have just installed a second hard disk which i what auto mounted on boot up

    as su, i edited the fstab file where the new hard disk was and set it as auto

    i rebooted to check it was all ok but the disk did not mount

    i looked at the fstab again to find that the second hard disk had gone back to noauto

    why is this

    and as a workaround is it safe to have a shell script run at boot time

    !# /bin/bash
    mount /dev/hdb /mnt/hdb

    what about unmounting at shutdown?

    m

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    Please post /etc/fstab

Similar Threads

  1. Screensaver Workaround
    By no_name in forum General Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-26-2005, 09:52 AM
  2. Problem when moving New Fstab to the Old Fstab to fix Suse
    By cheetahman in forum General Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 11:58 AM
  3. Toshiba 1800 workaround
    By Dutchguy in forum Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-23-2005, 10:45 PM
  4. Via 8235 AC97 sound workaround
    By rblanken in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-01-2004, 09:54 PM
  5. broken kpackage: workaround
    By agroz in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-11-2003, 01:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •