Thread: USB Write Permissions

USB Write Permissions

I have booted into a failing windows system using Knoppix and can see the files I need to retrieve.
    I want to copy them off to my USB maxtor drive but when I try to write them down I am being told that I do not have the permissions required.

Can anyone help me ? Im brand new to all 'nixes

Administrator Site Admin-

Re: USB Write Permissions

Quote Originally Posted by Conchial
    I have booted into a failing windows system using Knoppix and can see the files I need to retrieve.
    I want to copy them off to my USB maxtor drive but when I try to write them down I am being told that I do not have the permissions required.

Can anyone help me ? Im brand new to all 'nixes
    Knoppix by default will open partitions as read only. It sounds like you need to change the permission on the USB Maxtor drive to read write.

THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT. DO NOT SKIP PAST IT JUST BECAUSE YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND IT. If the USB drive has a NTFS partition on it, you will not be able to write to it without corrupting it. If the disk is empty you will need to reformat it. If it has files that you want to keep on it, you will need to back them up somewhere else or simply not use this USB disk. DO NOT try to use Knoppix to write to an NTFS fromatted drive.

If the Maxtor USB drive has a FAT partition on it, Knoppix can write to it safely. Boot Knoppix. Find the desktop icon for the USB drive FAT partition. Right click on it. Pick the actions ... sub-menu and change the access to read/write.

That makes a lot of sense to me.

I tried another USB drive with the same result so I am guessing the file system is the most likely culprit.

Riddle me this , can I format the drive using any OS ? I seem to recall from antiquity that certain media when formatted by windows would routinly fail in other systems , even as fat.

I appreciate the advice and the warnings.