Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: knoppix.com

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    london town
    Posts
    220

    knoppix.com

    has anyone else noticed or is it just me?

    knoppix.com runs on iis6...

    i didnt belive it at first but after some testing im 99% sure its running on iis6.


    banner inspection seems to point that its iis6 as it gives the exact same response to a GET / HTTP/1.1 request with no hostname as microsoft.com does(ie hiding server).

    Code:
    (root@runerm) (/home/pureone/sotm)-(20:04:13) #  nc -v knoppix.com 80
    Warning: inverse host lookup failed for 63.251.83.56: Unknown host
    knoppix.com [63.251.83.56] 80 (www) open
    GET / HTTP/1.1
    
    
    
    HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request
    Content-Type: text/html
    Date: Wed, 06 Jul 2005 20:52:07 GMT
    Connection: close
    Content-Length: 39
    
    <h1>Bad Request (Invalid Hostname)</h1>(root@runerm) (/home/pureone/sotm)-(20:52:02) #  nc -v microsoft.com 80
    
    Unknown host
    (root@runerm) (/home/pureone/sotm)-(20:52:42) #  nc -v microsoft.com 80
    Warning: inverse host lookup failed for 207.46.250.119: Host name lookup failure
    Warning: inverse host lookup failed for 207.46.130.108: Host name lookup failure
    microsoft.com [207.46.250.119] 80 (www) open
    GET / HTTP/1.1
    
    HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request
    Content-Type: text/html
    Date: Wed, 06 Jul 2005 20:51:55 GMT
    Connection: close
    Content-Length: 39
    
    <h1>Bad Request (Invalid Hostname)</h1>
    so im sure im not going insane...



    but really what i want to know is why?

    why is knoppix.com hosted on a windows box rather then a linux box?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    159
    Funny; it looks like you're right, as confirmed by Netcraft....

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    1,510
    knoppix.com is using MS IIS6 but is only as a redirector to knopper.net http://toolbar.netcraft.com/site_rep...ww.knopper.net

    Using 2 PCs, Knoppix, a hub, ethereal & lynx, I sniffed the http stream when connecting to http://knoppix.com and got this:
    Code:
    <html><head>
    
    <title></title></head>
    
    <frameset rows='100%, *' frameborder=no framespacing=0 border=0>
    <frame src="http://www.knopper.net/knoppix/index-en.html" name=mainwindow frameborder=no framespacing=0 marginheight=0 marginwidth=0></frame>
    </frameset>
    <noframes>
    <h2>Your browser does not support frames.  We recommend upgrading your browser.</h2>
    
    
    <center>Click here to enter the site.</center>
    </noframes></html>

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by UnderScore
    knoppix.com is using MS IIS6 but is only as a redirector to knopper.net http://toolbar.netcraft.com/site_rep...ww.knopper.net
    Thanks. Didn't think about that.

    Using 2 PCs, Knoppix, a hub, ethereal & lynx, I sniffed the http stream when connecting to http://knoppix.com and got this:
    Code:
    <html><head>
    
    <title></title></head>
    
    <frameset rows='100%, *' frameborder=no framespacing=0 border=0>
    <frame src="http://www.knopper.net/knoppix/index-en.html" name=mainwindow frameborder=no framespacing=0 marginheight=0 marginwidth=0></frame>
    </frameset>
    <noframes>
    <h2>Your browser does not support frames.  We recommend upgrading your browser.</h2>
    
    
    <center>Click here to enter the site.</center>
    </noframes></html>
    You can also get that by choosing "view - page source" in a browser.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    london town
    Posts
    220
    i dont get why knopper doesnt just point knoppix.com to his ip....
    its easyer to buy a domain name then to rent web space on a server i would of guessed.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    1,510
    I thought the same thing.

    Maybe he bought it off of someone else. Maybe someone else bought it & offered it to him & maybe the html redirector is the quick & dirty way of getting it done.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    818
    knopper doesn't own knoppix.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
VINTAGE COAXE CRIMPING TOOL NO.153
$5.0
VINTAGE COAXE CRIMPING TOOL  NO.153 pictureVintage nwot Avon leather organizer bag laptop brifcase shoulder/ messengerbag
$55.99
Vintage nwot Avon leather organizer bag laptop brifcase shoulder/ messengerbag picture100% NEW Men's Brown Vintage Genuine Leather Cowhide Travel Bags Tote
$0.99
100% NEW Men's Brown Vintage Genuine Leather Cowhide Travel Bags Tote  pictureVintage PC Software HARVARD Total Project Manager, VERSION 1.12
$19.95
Vintage PC Software HARVARD Total Project Manager, VERSION 1.12 pictureVintage PC Software T3 Scientific Word Processing System Disks- Collectibles
$19.99
Vintage PC Software T3 Scientific Word Processing System Disks-  Collectibles picture