Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dvd burning @ 1X

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    3

    dvd burning @ 1X

    I have just recently lost a hard drive to the RAW format and knoppix is able to read the disc with no errors compared to windows. I have been able to burn backup dvds with my sony dru 710a wich is capable of 16x, but they have only been burning at 1x. I am using the k3b software that comes with knoppix v 3.9 but have found no way of increasing the speed, although it starts the burn process saying it will burn at 8.2x, but for sure only burns at 1x. I am using growisof within k3b to burn the dvd. I have also noticed that my temp file size is only 189 megs, any way to increase this?. my cpu specs are a P4,256 RAM, cd-rw and dvd-rw ,plus a 20 gig, 60 gig, and 200 gig hard drive.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041

    Re: dvd burning @ 1X

    --It may be the media is only capable of writing at 1x. How long is the burn taking?

    Quote Originally Posted by tmarr04
    I have just recently lost a hard drive to the RAW format and knoppix is able to read the disc with no errors compared to windows. I have been able to burn backup dvds with my sony dru 710a wich is capable of 16x, but they have only been burning at 1x. I am using the k3b software that comes with knoppix v 3.9 but have found no way of increasing the speed, although it starts the burn process saying it will burn at 8.2x, but for sure only burns at 1x. I am using growisof within k3b to burn the dvd. I have also noticed that my temp file size is only 189 megs, any way to increase this?. my cpu specs are a P4,256 RAM, cd-rw and dvd-rw ,plus a 20 gig, 60 gig, and 200 gig hard drive.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    3
    the burn is taking around 45 minutes, and i know the dvd+r disks are capable of 8x...actually they are 8x and up disks, but it has been working the same as the sony 1x disks that i had earlier...so far i have just been burning and burning for days...please help and thank you

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    You may need to turn on DMA for the drive(s). What device is the DVD burner (IDE primary slave, secondary master, or secondary slave)?

    Example syntax (as root)
    ' hdparm -c1 -d1 -u1 /dev/hdb ' == If primary slave

    --Other than that I can't really think of anything.

    Quote Originally Posted by tmarr04
    the burn is taking around 45 minutes, and i know the dvd+r disks are capable of 8x...actually they are 8x and up disks, but it has been working the same as the sony 1x disks that i had earlier...so far i have just been burning and burning for days...please help and thank you

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    3
    I have turned on dma before and it causes a buffer error, probably because my temp file size is only 189 megs. Just to let you know tho it is on secondary ide as slave

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    --I don't see how a DMA error would be related to "temp file size"... What do you mean by that, anyway? 189MB of swap should be sufficient if you have at least 128MB of RAM, unless ' free ' or ' top ' says it's filling up. You can always try booting Knoppix into a different windowmanager that uses less resources, as well - KDE is a hog.

    --Are you using 80-wire IDE cables? On this old HP P500 that I'm using, the motherboard IDE was absolute crap and didn't really support DMA, even with the right cables. You can get an add-in PCI IDE 133 card for under $20 though, and put the DVD burner on that. When I did this on the faulty HP box, I had no more problems with burning.

    --You can take a look at the kernel source ( Device drivers \ ATA/ATAPI support ) and see what IDE chipsets are supported. I'd go with a Promise or Silicon Image if I were you.

    --Personally I prefer the Silicon Image SI0680; I've got 3 of them:
    http://www.directron.com/ccdideraid.html

    http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?Inv...g&cm_ite=total

    --I don't use the RAID functions, but it does a good job as an IDE 133 card. There's two different cards that use this chipset that I've found; the red one is slightly less compatible on some hardware, and the blue-green one is better - but usually more expensive; both perform about the same.

    --The driver that gets loaded for it is "siimage" on kernel 2.4; it may be different on 2.6.

    --There's an interesting feature called "Boot off-board chipsets first" that allows you to boot off the IDE card instead of the mobo; the Silicon Image gets assigned hda-hdd, and the onboard IDE gets hde-hdh. The Silicon Image (or other driver) has to be compiled as Y instead of Module for that, and you pretty much have to boot with a floppy and know what you're doing; but that's the way I'm doing it.

    --Also see:
    http://www.dslwebserver.com/main/fr_...vs-ata133.html

    --Interestingly, the Promise card I found on Pricewatch here is a little cheaper, but it's not RAID and it's "used":
    "This Maxtor controller card features a Promise technologies PDC20269 chipset" == Which is listed in the kernel source.

    http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...3PCI-U&cat=CCD

    Quote Originally Posted by tmarr04
    I have turned on dma before and it causes a buffer error, probably because my temp file size is only 189 megs. Just to let you know tho it is on secondary ide as slave

Similar Threads

  1. BUrning with K3b
    By Shorinusa in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-27-2009, 05:08 PM
  2. K3b (Cd & DVD) Burning
    By clifbone in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 10:12 PM
  3. Burning to CD
    By zeroshard in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2005, 05:04 AM
  4. Burning ISO
    By sn0wflake in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 08:08 AM
  5. CD burning
    By sblacklord in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2003, 10:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •