Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Boot Knoppix 3.3 from HDD using Grub for NTFS

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    3

    Boot Knoppix 3.3 from HDD using Grub for NTFS

    Hi
    I have GIS Knoppix (http://www.sourcepole.com/sources/so...ppix/index.xml) which is based on Knoppix 3.3. I have as OS Windows XP with NTFS partition. I want to boot from HDD using GRUB for NTFS (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Win_Partition)
    I want to know if is possible to use Grub for NTFS to boot Knoppix 3.3 from HDD with the NTFS partition, or I need al least Knoppix 3.6 to do so

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    660

    Re: Boot Knoppix 3.3 from HDD using Grub for NTFS

    Quote Originally Posted by sandricionut
    Hi
    I have GIS Knoppix (http://www.sourcepole.com/sources/so...ppix/index.xml) which is based on Knoppix 3.3. I have as OS Windows XP with NTFS partition. I want to boot from HDD using GRUB for NTFS (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Win_Partition)
    I want to know if is possible to use Grub for NTFS to boot Knoppix 3.3 from HDD with the NTFS partition, or I need al least Knoppix 3.6 to do so
    Well as far as I know, the fist version of the initrd_ntfs ramdisk file required to boot knoppix from the iso file being in a ntfs partition has been made by the japanese Knoppix team and was for Knoppix 3.4. Then I updated the initrd_ntfs files for the following Knoppix releases up to the current Knoppix 4.0 DVD:
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...1796&start=240
    I suppose that I could make a Knoppix 3.3 initrd_ntfs version, but does it really make sense since there are so many new nice features in the latest Knoppix releases ? Is there any update planned for gis-knoppix ? All this is just matter of finding the time to do it... and btw I don't think that I still have the Knoppix 3.3 iso. Let me know how desperate you are...
    Best Regards,
    Gilles

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    3
    Hi and Thank you
    It is a new released of GIS Knoppix based on Knoppix 3.4, but so far you have to pay...so I don't inted to pay
    I am not so desperate, but I was really wanted to use knoppix from HDD because is cumbersome to boot all the time from CD
    I will waite for the free release of GIS Knoppix based on Knoppix 3.4

    Ionut

Similar Threads

  1. ISO boot from FAT/NTFS/USB (GRUB.exe, grldr from boot.ini)
    By ruymbeke in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 704
    Last Post: 10-07-2017, 01:33 AM
  2. NTFS, GRUB, NTLDR, not MBR, etc.,
    By sakamoto motoharu in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 09:38 PM
  3. Pre-Knoppix 3.4 Grub boot question
    By clivesay in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-18-2006, 03:23 AM
  4. Where is /boot/grub/menu.lst in knoppix 3.7
    By dimpflmoser in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2005, 04:22 AM
  5. HOW TO EDIT GRUB TO BOOT KNOPPIX 3.6..PLEASE HELP
    By Drool King in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-31-2004, 08:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •