Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Lucent Winmodem may work with KNOPPIX

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    5

    Lucent Winmodem may work with KNOPPIX

    Please can someone test this, and fix any error you find - perhaps this can later be used at the hardware FAQ of knopper.net. Thanks!

    I wanted to browse the internet while running KNOPPIX CD, and I was disappointed by not having a real modem. Since I have previously installed linux drivers for lucent-based winmodems (ltmodem) in HD-based linux installations (Mandrake, Conectiva), sometimes successfully, sometimes not, I developed a small guide to the subject:

    INSTALLING LUCENT-BASED WINMODEM DRIVERS IN KNOPPIX

    1. PREPARE YOUR BIOS
    - Plug-and-Play OS = NO
    - Turn on AC97 onboard modem controller (if availble)

    2. Download ltmodem driver source to your windows partition or to a floppy disk

    http://www.linmodems.org
    (Lucent/AGERE resources, tar.gz file).

    3. Boot knoppix

    4. cd /tmp

    5. tar -zxvf path-to-the-modem-driver-sources.tar.gz

    6. cd newly_created_directory

    7. ./build_module

    8. Install will not work because depmod and install complain of read-only filesystem (they can't save modules to /lib/modules/2.4.20-xfs). Instead do:

    9. cd source
    then save lt_modem.o and lt_serial.o to the floppy disk (or vfat partition).

    10. Create the following script using a plain text editor (save it to the floppy disk too, with a suggestive name like "modem.sh"; if you save it to another directory, adjust the second line to reflect the right location). Don't forget to make the script executable. For example, if you save it as modem.sh, then run "chmod +x modem.sh", or right-click the file in Konqueror, choose Properties, Permissions, and add "Exec" permissions to the file:

    #!/bin/bash
    cd /mnt/floppy
    mknod /dev/ttyLT0 c 62 64
    chmod a+rw /dev/ttyLT0
    ln -sf /dev/ttyLT0 /dev/modem
    insmod -f lt_modem.o
    insmod -f lt_serial.o

    11. Start kppp then -> Configure -> Talk to modem.

    12. If the previous option works, just add a new dial-up account.

    13. don't forget to save your config to another floppy, so you keep the account info for next boot...

    14. Should the insmod program complain that gcc 2.95 should have been used instead, "cd" to the "source" directory and recompile the drivers, but after the "./configure" and before the "make" steps edit the Makefile and replace "gcc" with "gcc-2.95"

    Andreas

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Muscat.Oman
    Posts
    262
    I used your idea to install drivers for my pctel hsp 56k micromodem. It worked for me!
    Please refer to my post under Hardware re: HSP micromodem.

    Thanks!

    bong

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    Cool. It would be nice to have a script on Knoppix to automate this. The problem is that if your modem doesn't work and it's the only way you can get internet access, how do you download the driver. Perhaps it could be used together with persistent home and a usb key drive.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1
    Great! It does work indeed for the LT Winmodem!

    I had quite some trouble using my modem with the CD version, but thanks to this contribution I managed to get things working.

    Thanks,

    Marc

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Belgrade, YU
    Posts
    334
    Thank you funkea very much! Without your explanation I did not know how to start. Than, I was lazy and lucky - I did ./build_module than ./instal2 and ./autoload and modem works! They saved modules to /lib/modules/2.4.20-xfs. Modem is Lucent PCI winmodem.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1
    Thanks a lot, it worked for me, but I had to run "su" before I ran the script and before I ran KPPP, otherwise it gave "Permission denied" errors.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1
    I ran the script and the line with mknod gives me an error Input/output error

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    611
    I used apt-get to put the lt-drivers on my remaster, but I have no way to test whether they work as is, or if I need to do some configuring for them to work.

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    106
    I put a shortcut in my autostart folder to run a script that activates my modem at startup. Then when I want to get on the internet, I click on a desktop KPPP icon that connects and launches Mozilla. Here's the script:

    #!/bin/bash
    # Save this file as modem.sh in /home/knoppix
    # Set up a persistent home with Knoppix so files will stay put
    # Make a shortcut called Modem on the desktop or in your autostart folder.
    # In the shortcut under Execute put: sudo -s /modem.sh
    # Check Run in terminal and it will do that as root
    # Run this Modem shortcut to dial-up if your modem has not been activated.
    # These lines, will be run as root, and activate the Lucent winmodem:
    cd /home/knoppix/tmp
    mknod /dev/ttyLT0 c 62 64
    chmod a+rw /dev/ttyLT0
    ln -sf /dev/ttyLT0 /dev/modem
    insmod -f lt_modem.o
    insmod -f lt_serial.o
    # This line changes the user to knoppix, starts KPPP, and connects to MyISP.
    # Uncomment the line if you want to use it:
    # su knoppix -c 'kppp -c MyISP'
    # --------------------------
    # Make a desktop shortcut called KPPP. In the shortcut
    # Under Execute put: kppp -c MyISP
    # Where "MyISP" is the name of your dial-up account
    # Run this KPPP shortcut to dial-up if your modem has already been activated.
    # Set KPPP to redial on disconnect if pppd always dies on the first try.
    # In KPPP, under your account, execute, on connect, put: mozilla
    # If you want Mozilla to launch automatically on connect.


    I use a custom autostart folder so that Konqueror doesn't launch every time I start Knoppix:
    Right click on the desktop, click configure desktop, then paths, to make the change. I use: /home/knoppix/autostart. Then move showindex.desktop out and put the modem shortcut in.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1
    i tried to use your script under knoppix 3.3 unfortunately it didn't work for my ac'97 modem
    complaining that the kernel is not suiting to the modules .o ,has anybody got any idea ?
    thank you!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lucent Winmodem For A Hdd Install I Did
    By \/\/inblowz in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-2004, 09:52 PM
  2. lucent winmodem on knoppix 3.3
    By Skytos in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 12:00 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-24-2004, 12:38 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2004, 01:57 PM
  5. Lucent WinModem v.90 not working!!!
    By knoppix_br in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2003, 11:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell Poweredge R520 2x Xeon E5-2470 v2 2.4GHz 20-Core 192gb 8xTray H710 2x750w picture

Dell Poweredge R520 2x Xeon E5-2470 v2 2.4GHz 20-Core 192gb 8xTray H710 2x750w

$344.99



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v2 2.2GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 1x 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v2 2.2GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 1x 480GB SSD

$139.99



Dell Poweredge R210 II Server Xeon E3-1220 v2 3.1ghz Quad Core / NoRam / 1x Tray picture

Dell Poweredge R210 II Server Xeon E3-1220 v2 3.1ghz Quad Core / NoRam / 1x Tray

$69.99



R630 DELL 8 x 2.5'' POWEREDGE 2X E5-2680V4 32GB RAM IDRAC ENT & NDC 2X 495W PSU picture

R630 DELL 8 x 2.5'' POWEREDGE 2X E5-2680V4 32GB RAM IDRAC ENT & NDC 2X 495W PSU

$169.95



Dell R630 8 SFF Server 2x E5-2650 V4 = 24 Cores 2.2GHz 128GB DDR4 iDRAC8 picture

Dell R630 8 SFF Server 2x E5-2650 V4 = 24 Cores 2.2GHz 128GB DDR4 iDRAC8

$300.00



Dell PowerEdge R730 2xE5-2660V3 2.6Ghz 20Core 128GB RAM H730 2xSFP+2xRJ45 2x750W picture

Dell PowerEdge R730 2xE5-2660V3 2.6Ghz 20Core 128GB RAM H730 2xSFP+2xRJ45 2x750W

$349.99



CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs picture

CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs

$313.33



Dell Poweredge R730xd 3.5 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 64gb H730 14x Trays 2x 1100w picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd 3.5 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 64gb H730 14x Trays 2x 1100w

$489.99



Dell PowerEdge R710 2.5

Dell PowerEdge R710 2.5" 2U Server 2x X5670 2.93GHZ 12-Core 128gb 2x 1TB SAS

$214.99



Dell Desktop Quad Core i5 8400 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD 32GB RAM Window Server 2022 picture

Dell Desktop Quad Core i5 8400 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD 32GB RAM Window Server 2022

$301.73