Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: My internet does not work after knoppix 3.9 install

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3

    My internet does not work after knoppix 3.9 install

    I just installed knoppix 3.9 on my home PC; I try to do apt-get or to use kpackage, but to no avail. It would not even connect to the internet. I can not access web-pages. Is there a way to setup network such that I can get my internet up and running?

    There is a switch linking my two machines. The mepis machine runs fine, but my knoppix machine doesn't. I have tried dsl linux on that machine, and even from the livecd, it accesses the network.

    I am put back that there is no synaptic. kpackage is a little too difficult for me to use in terms of disabling the sources like non-us debian, that is not required.

    Is there a step by step way of making network successful?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    1,510
    We have cautioned new users from installing Knoppix to the HD without first being aware that it might not work for them http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Hd_Install_HowTo. You have run into a known issue with Knoppix 3.9 HD Installs in that it breaks networking.

    The bug is documented as #15 http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Bugs/3.9-2005-05-27 and can be resolved by entering the command as root user:
    ln -s /etc/init.d/ifupdown-clean /etc/rcS.d/S18ifupdown-clean

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2006, 09:30 AM
  2. automount & internet dont work after knoppix 3.9 hd-inst
    By kazuya1977 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2005, 10:07 PM
  3. Knoppix 3.4 on VMware and getting internet to work
    By Bonzo in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-22-2004, 01:42 PM
  4. internet works but doesn't work.
    By drg55 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2003, 12:47 PM
  5. internet won't work - possible fix
    By rickenbacherus in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-10-2003, 03:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200RPM 3.5" WD1001FALS-00J7B1 32MB Cache
$20.0
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200RPM 3.5Dell YJ0GR 300GB 10K SAS Drive in KG7NR Sled (HUC106030CSS600) ***Lot of Two***
$24.98
Dell YJ0GR 300GB 10K SAS Drive in KG7NR Sled (HUC106030CSS600) ***Lot of Two*** pictureSeagate Barracuda 7200.12 250GB Internal 7200RPM 3.5" (ST3250318AS) HDD; 
$10.0
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 250GB Internal 7200RPM 3.5Seagate 2TB Backup Plus Ultra Touch White Portable Hard Drive
$89.99
Seagate 2TB Backup Plus Ultra Touch White Portable Hard Drive pictureWestern Digital 1TB WD10EURX Hard Disk Drive 3.5" SATA 6.0Gb/s
$21.0
Western Digital 1TB WD10EURX Hard Disk Drive 3.5