Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Stops booting after auto config

Stops booting after auto config

Alrighty, so I downloaded knoppix, to letyou know off hand. I have never used linux in my life before. So a freind guided me through it. When I first tryed it I would just get a black screen after the boot prompt. Then I was given some cheats, and the only one that would get me past the first thing that shows up which would be

"uncompressing linux, ok, booting kernel"

would be the cheat "failsafe" and that would bring me right up to all the funky coloured text. Once I got there there was a thing called auto configuration, it had a green loading bar, the bar would load, the blinking cursor would go the the next line. Then taht would be it. It would stop. Im not sure what I can do. Any help would be much appreciated.

Administrator Site Admin-
    Try the cheat code knoppix expert which will boot asking a serise of questions. Answer them to the best of your ability and take notes. If you hit a point where you get a hang, try again and change the answer to your last question. Post back here with your answers and the point at which the process fails. Letting people know what computer make and model you have might help us help you also.

Thanks kind stranger, I have 3.7 downlaoding now, but once thats finishes, ill give that a try. Thank you

Senior Member registered user

Re: Stops booting after auto config

Quote Originally Posted by SwirlingVenom
    would be the cheat "failsafe" and that would bring me right up to all the funky coloured text. Once I got there there was a thing called auto configuration, it had a green loading bar, the bar would load, the blinking cursor would go the the next line. Then taht would be it. It would stop. Im not sure what I can do. Any help would be much appreciated.