Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Configure MAC address on boot

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2

    Configure MAC address on boot

    Hey I'm remastering a copy of Knoppix 3.9 and I want to set a specific MAC address when the system starts up, how would I go about configuring that?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    1,510
    "Changing MAC address" http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=20830
    "Remaster Knoppix without Remastering" http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/wlg/5964

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2
    Thanks that looks like it should work. One more question though, is it possible to specify a specific MAC and still have the IP assigned by DCHP? Because when I change the MAC I am not able to ping anything, it looks like the default gateway is 0.0.0.0

Similar Threads

  1. Changing IP Address.
    By MRShahin in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2006, 10:57 AM
  2. How to configure Lilo to boot Knoppix?
    By smolk in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2006, 09:48 AM
  3. set IP address?
    By stry_cat in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 10:03 PM
  4. network card boot-up problem, doesn't get dhcp address
    By J0hnP1pe in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2005, 08:08 AM
  5. How to configure ethernet boot??
    By Sanja in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2003, 06:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •