Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Still can't connect to LAN

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    6

    Still can't connect to LAN

    System is
    cable modem
    Linksys 5 port router
    Linksys NIC (in WinXP home boxes, Kingston in Win98SE box)
    Various laptops with WinXP (NTFS) or Win98SE (FAT32) or Slax live CD running, plugged into the LAN, on occasion

    When I boot Knoppix DVD 4 (from the DVD with a small ext2 partition on HDD for save config), I can't see anyone else on the LAN, I am unable to ping the other machines. I can use the internet in Knoppix (and Slax).

    No problem with internet connection. All the Win machines can see each other, and access all the files across the LAN, and access the internet. I would like to connect the Knoppix (or Slax) to the LAN for file backups.

  2. #2
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441

    Re: Still can't connect to LAN

    Quote Originally Posted by byrdman
    I am unable to ping the other machines. I can use the internet
    My guess is that a firewall issue on the Win boxes is blocking your pings (and other traffic). Can you ping the Linksys router? Can you ping the Knoppix box from the Windows systems?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    6

    Negative

    Can't ping from Win98SE or WinXPSP2 to Linux, don't see router. Firewall for XP is off, I have PCCillin AV and Firewall, I have tried unplugging cable modem, turning off PCCillin and rebooting everything, still can't see each other on the LAN. Nothing will showup in My Network Places or LinNeighbborhood.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    376

    Re: Negative

    Quote Originally Posted by byrdman
    Can't ping from Win98SE or WinXPSP2 to Linux, don't see router. Firewall for XP is off, I have PCCillin AV and Firewall, I have tried unplugging cable modem, turning off PCCillin and rebooting everything, still can't see each other on the LAN. Nothing will showup in My Network Places or LinNeighbborhood.
    Open up a terminal window and type the following code:
    Code:
    (set -x
    ifconfig -a
    lsmod
    lspci
    ping -c 1 localhost
    ) >& post.txt
    Please post the output from post.txt here.

    Regards,
    - Robert
    http://www.cwelug.org

  5. #5
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441

    Re: Negative

    Quote Originally Posted by byrdman
    Can't ping from Win98SE or WinXPSP2 to Linux, don't see router.
    don't see router from Knoppix, or don't even see router from Windows? Either way it makes no sense, but it will help to be very precise here if we are going to spot what is wrong and not make assumptions.

    It's time to post all details. Local IP addresses (there is no reason to keep these hidden as they can't be reached by the Interner anyway). Post the output of ifconfig on Knoppix and ipconfig on the Windows boxes. We need IP addresses as well as masks and the rest. And post the model of that Linksys router, and anything else that you can think of that may help. Look over all of the web setup information in the router for clues.

    Quote Originally Posted by byrdman
    Firewall for XP is off
    You're sure for the XP system that you are not also running the damn Windows firewall, that is turned on by default in SP2? Boy, this sure looks like a firewall issue. Can't be a MAC filter issue in the router or you couldn't get to the Internet.

    Quote Originally Posted by byrdman
    I have tried unplugging cable modem,
    That one doesn't make much sense to me, since all systems were getting to the Internet just fine. It has to be more local.

    Quote Originally Posted by byrdman
    still can't see each other on the LAN. Nothing will showup in My Network Places or LinNeighbborhood.
    I'm not concerned about getting networking working yet. There are some issues that it works differently between XP and 98, having both on your system you may need to make a few setting just right to get everyone on the same page. But you are not going to get networking going if you can't even ping, so I would focus on that first.

    You are trying to ping the windows boxes (and the knoppix box from windows) by IP address and not by name, are you not? As in ping 192.168.0.100 ? Are you 100% certain that you are using the correct IP addresses?

    One thing that you may have to resort to is to watch the low level packet trafic as you try to ping the systems. Knoppix has Ethereal which is great for this purpose. I suspect if you watch an attempted ping from Knoppix you will see the ping packet go out but just never see a response (if you don't see the ping go out then that tells us something is wrong). But I suspect that if you watch the NIC (eth0) with ethereal and then ping the Knoppix system from windows you will see the ping (ICMP) packet come in and the response packet go back out. It would be worth examining the addresses closely in those packets but I still want to think that it will be a Windows firewall issue (although 98 has no default firewall, weakening that theory).

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    6
    Linksys 5 port router with uplink, model #EZXS55W, NIC Linksys LNE 100T x Version 2.0 Fast, Cable modem is Linksys model BEFCMU10 Ver. 2

    Knoppix DVD live

    root@1[knoppix]# ifconfig
    +ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:A0:CC:37:0F:8D
    inet addr:68.187.92.72 Bcasst:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.240.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::2a0:ccff:fe37:f8d/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 METRIC:1
    RX packets:66544 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:11669 errors:6 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:7
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:48144556 (45.9MiB) TX bytes:2969069 (2.8MiB)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x8400

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:46 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:46 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:7
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2555 (2.4 KiB) TX bytes:2555 (2.4KiB)


    WinXP home (SP2, confirmed Windows firewall is off)
    c:\ipconfig
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eau.wi.charter.com
    IP Address . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.112.201.16
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.112.200.1

  7. #7
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441
    [quote="byrdman"]
    Quote Originally Posted by byrdman
    inet addr:68.187.92.72 Bcasst:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.240.0

    IP Address . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.112.201.16
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Is there something that you want to tell us about your IP addresses? This is very untypical for IP addresses on a Linksys router.

    Normally I would expect a user to have one IP address assigned by an ISP, and this address to be shared by the different computers attached to the router. They do this sharing by NAT, the router assigns each computer a private IP address usually in the 192.168.x.y range, where X is usually 0 1 or 2 depending on the router and Y is a range of local ip addresses that the router hands out.

    ipconfig and ifconfig should reflect these local private addresses, but they do not, they show public addresses, and two different ones. Also, you seem to be showing two very different public IP addresses 68.187.92.72 and 68.112.201.16 that are no where near being on the same subnet (based on the subnet mask that you show). If you are going to have multiple IP addresses thay should really be on the same sub-net.

    Do you buy multiple IP addresses from your ISP? Do you know why your router isn't handing out local 192.168.x.y addresses? When you talk (or ping) from Windows to windows system, what IP addresses are assinged to each system? And I'm still very curious about exactly what you type when you try to ping from each system.

    Multiple public addresses might work, but it could well involve all local traffic looped through some part of your ISP's system, greatly slowing throughput. But there is a lot going on here that isn't clear yet.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    6

    we get 3

    our system allows 3 IP addresses per customer

  9. #9
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441

    Re: we get 3

    Quote Originally Posted by byrdman
    our system allows 3 IP addresses per customer
    It may allow you three addresses per customer, but how you are keeping the Linksys router from taking one of those and then assigning local addresses to the computers is the key to this. That plus the 3 addresses you are getting not being on the same sub-net (they should if the computers are to consider each other local).
    ---
    Verifying of md5 checksum and burning a CD at slow speed are important.

  10. #10
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441
    Well, here's one key to the puzzle - you don't have a router at all!

    The Linksys EZXS55W is a switch, not a router. See here.

    So you have no router. You have no hardware firewall and the protection that comes with it. You have no NAT and no local private IP addresses. And you have an ISP handing out IP addresses to you that are not on the same subnet, based on the subnet mask that it is using. I'm unclear on how your windows systems talk to each other (you might want to post a traceroute between your xp and your win98 systems).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. help-net connect
    By jcapinc in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-30-2007, 06:06 PM
  2. connect through lan net
    By nahjos in forum Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2006, 04:26 AM
  3. how to connect..?
    By valkyrie in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2005, 12:09 PM
  4. Connect to LAN
    By cschilbe in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2004, 07:06 AM
  5. how to connect thru VNC
    By redss in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-04-2004, 05:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •