Thread: copying ntfs data via ext. dvd burner or hd

copying ntfs data via ext. dvd burner or hd

Hello: I'm a relative newbie to linux & knoppix. PC is a vaio laptop about a year old. I want to remove data on an NTFS partition by booting with knoppix 3.8 cd, and using that knoppix to detect the USB external pioneer dvr-107 dvd burner, and burning data onto a windows formatted (i presume it's fat32) DVD-RW disk. But:
    -I looked in /mnt and /etc/fstab, and didn't see the DVD drive mounted, nor does icon for drive appear. Also, an external floppy drive has an icon on desktop & apparently exists as /dev/fd0 in fstab, but a dos floppy does not open & error msg pops up that "file:/mnt/floppy does not exist" (logged in as root). So I don't know how to:
    - get the external drives detected then mounted
    another question:
    I may have access to an external fat32 usb 80G hard drive. Will the boot from knoppix 3.8 cd detect that drive so that I can move the data from internal hd to USB external hd? Any advice/links appreciated. Thank you.

Administrator Site Admin-

Re: copying ntfs data via ext. dvd burner or hd

Quote Originally Posted by linusr
    Hello: I'm a relative newbie to linux & knoppix. PC is a vaio laptop about a year old. I want to remove data on an NTFS partition by booting with knoppix 3.8 cd, and using that knoppix to detect the USB external pioneer dvr-107 dvd burner, and burning data onto a windows formatted (i presume it's fat32) DVD-RW disk. But:
    -I looked in /mnt and /etc/fstab, and didn't see the DVD drive mounted, nor does icon for drive appear. Also, an external floppy drive has an icon on desktop & apparently exists as /dev/fd0 in fstab, but a dos floppy does not open & error msg pops up that "file:/mnt/floppy does not exist" (logged in as root). So I don't know how to:
    - get the external drives detected then mounted
    another question: