Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: USB-ADSL Modem - Can't setup broadband internet - HELP

USB-ADSL Modem - Can't setup broadband internet - HELP

Hey,
    I just got Knoppix, I'm a Linux newbie and I need help connecting to broadband internet through a USB connected ADSL modem, I've looked through help pages and I found one that might have helped but it said "To make the connection:
    1. Make sure the Ethernet cable from the ADSL router is connected to the computer's Ethernet adapter."
    and the problem is my computer has no Ethernet Adapter, and it doesn't use an Ethernet Cable, it uses a USB cable and is connected to the computer via USB.
    Can someone help me A.S.A.P ? Can you tell me how to setup internet ?

Thanks,
    ehzrar@yahoo.co.nz

Administrator Site Admin-

Re: USB-ADSL Modem - Can't setup broadband internet - HELP

Quote Originally Posted by ehzrar
    ....and the problem is my computer has no Ethernet Adapter, and it doesn't use an Ethernet Cable, it uses a USB cable and is connected to the computer via USB.
    Yes, you have accurately identified the problem. Some people have actually managed to get some usb dsl modems to sorta work under Knoppix, but the real problem is that you have that type of modem at all. My advice (not that anyone ever cares about my advice), 1 - demand a ethernet based modem and 2 - if the modem doesn't have a built-in router, buy an inexpensive DSL/cable (soho) router to connect to the modem and never connect to the internet without using the router.

???

I don't know if that matters, because the ADSL modem cannot be connected to my computer via ethernet because there is no ethernet slot or ethernet card in my computer. Is is possible to connect to the internet vai USB connected modem?

Thanks for the reply

Re: ???

Quote Originally Posted by ehzrar