Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Knoppix Disk Image stops @ 96%

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7

    Knoppix Disk Image stops @ 96%

    Ive installed the Live Knoppix CD earlier on, on another computer and everything went fine.
    Although on this one it doesnt.
    This is what I did :
    Made 2 partitions : swap partition and linux ext2
    Booted up in Knoppix.
    Asked to create disk image.
    Selected HDA1 ( 40 GIG ).
    ( I have multiple disks, Disk 2 holds winxp )
    Installing ..
    Freezes up @ 96%.

    Any help is very much appreciated

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    376

    Re: Knoppix Disk Image stops @ 96%

    Quote Originally Posted by Phatcat
    Any help is very much appreciated
    Welcome to Knoppix.net.

    What version of Knoppix are you using? You say you are trying to create a persistent disk image. How are you doing this? How big? Have you tried different sizes: e.g. 3 MB, 10 MB, 30 MB, 100 MB, 300 MB?

    Regards,
    - Robert
    http://www.cwelug.org

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7
    That would be knoppix version 3.9
    I try to create a persistant knoppix disk by using the tools in the knoppix menu.
    How large? 40 gig
    I did try different sizes

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    376
    Quote Originally Posted by Phatcat
    That would be knoppix version 3.9
    I try to create a persistant knoppix disk by using the tools in the knoppix menu.
    So that would be K > KNOPPIX > Configure > Create a persistent KNOPPIX disk image. Is that correct?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phatcat
    How large? 40 gig
    Are you saying you tried to create a 40 GB persistent disk image (PDI)? That's really big and will take Knoppix a long time to create and transfer the necessary files to the PDI, especially if DMA is turned off.

    Quote Originally Posted by Phatcat
    I did try different sizes
    OK. So a few things to try to figure out what's happening:

    1) Try creating a 3 MB PDI. Did that work or did Knoppix freeze @ 96%? That should only take about a minute. How long did it take? If creating a 3 MB PDI works, repeat creating a 10 MB, 30 MB, and 100 MB PDI. How long did each of those take?

    2) Turn on DMA. K > KNOPPIX > Utilities > Harddisk/CD/DVD DMA Acceleration, then click on "hda" and then OK.

    3) 3.9 has some known issues with unionfs. Since the PDI relies on unionfs, the unionfs module may be causing Knoppix to hang. The next time Knoppix "hangs", open a terminal window (K > KNOPPIX > Root shell) and type the following commands:
    Code:
    ( set -x
    dmesg | tail -30
    scanpartitions
    ) >& post.txt
    Please post the output from post.txt

    Regards,
    - Robert
    http://www.cwelug.org

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7
    II tried to create one for 10 MB. It worked.

    So I used DMA acceleration and tried it for 30gig.
    It stopped responding at 96 procent as asual so here is post.txt

    Code:
    + dmesg
    + tail -30
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    FAT: Filesystem panic (dev hda1)
        fat_get_cluster: invalid cluster chain (i_pos 2625)
    NTFS driver 2.1.22 [Flags: R/W MODULE].
    NTFS volume version 3.1.
    Adding 2097140k swap on /dev/hdb5.  Priority:-1 extents:1
    NET: Registered protocol family 17
    NET: Registered protocol family 10
    Disabled Privacy Extensions on device c03702e0(lo)
    IPv6 over IPv4 tunneling driver
    eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    Warning: /proc/ide/hd?/settings interface is obsolete, and will be removed soon!
    + scanpartitions
    Thanks for your efforts so far

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    376
    Quote Originally Posted by Phatcat
    II tried to create one for 10 MB. It worked.
    Well that's good. So, the feature does work.

    What concerns me is that the dmesg output suggests that /dev/hda1 is a FAT partition. Is that correct? If it is, that may be the problem. IIRC, FAT does not have support for large files (> 2 GB)

    I'm also puzzled about the scanpartition output or lack thereof. scanpartitions should have reported what /dev/hda1 and /dev/hda2 were, but didn't. Not sure why.

    Try booting knoppix again and run this code in a root terminal, trying scanpartitions again:
    Code:
    ( set -x
    hdparm -d /dev/hda
    fdisk -l /dev/hda
    scanpartitions
    cat /etc/fstab
    ) >& post.txt
    Please post the output from post.txt

    Regards,
    - Robert
    http://www.cwelug.org

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for your help once again.
    I just messed with everything a bit and it worked.
    I now have a swap partition and a disk image.
    The problem is that I cannot boot it up.
    I am not getting a lilo screen like I got at my old computer.
    So I searched w google and found that I needed to make changes to etc/lilo.conf
    I did this and I changed all hda to hdb6 ( this is the partition where I installed linux ).
    The problem is since I cant load the disk image it saves nothing.

    Could you give me ( now that I know how to create a disk image ) the right way to set this up?
    The lilo screen I mean ? how to boot it up?
    Cuz since it worked so fine the previous time without doing anything special, I am getting frustrated

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    376
    Quote Originally Posted by Phatcat
    Thanks for your help once again.
    I just messed with everything a bit and it worked.
    I now have a swap partition and a disk image.
    Now that you got things working, you have to tell us what you did and how you got it working. That's how the knowledge base that is this forum grows.

    Regards,
    - Robert
    http://www.cwelug.org

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    I've been installing KNOPPIX to hdd for years!

    I've used knx-hdinstall with 3.2, 3.3 and 3.4 I've used knoppix-installer with 3.5, 3.6, 3.7 and 3.8.1 without a hitch.

    Now I tried knoppix-installer with 3.9 for the first time and got the copying files stage to stop at 96%. What's that about? Is this a related problem as that stated in this thread?

    TIA,
    AJG

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    376
    Quote Originally Posted by A. Jorge Garcia
    Now I tried knoppix-installer with 3.9 for the first time and got the copying files stage to stop at 96%. What's that about? Is this a related problem as that stated in this thread?
    Dunno. The way to troubleshoot this is to boot up into text mode (e.g. boot: knoppix 3) and then run the installer capturing standard output and error to two separate log files. When the machine freezes at 96%, switch to another virtual console have inspect the log files as well as dmesg and the process table.

    Regards,
    - Robert
    http://www.cwelug.org

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Persistent Knoppix disk image in GNOME
    By Marge in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2009, 05:57 PM
  2. Create a persistent Knoppix disk image...but where??
    By Canard blanc in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-18-2009, 05:26 AM
  3. New to Knoppix, need persistant disk image
    By Knopperdude in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 01:33 AM
  4. About creating a persistent Knoppix disk image
    By mramos in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-22-2008, 11:50 AM
  5. error creating a persistent disk image Knoppix 4.02
    By Ormin in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2006, 05:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Apple II+, IIe, IIgs - Microtek Dumpling-GX 925B - Vintage
$9.99
Apple II+, IIe, IIgs - Microtek Dumpling-GX 925B - Vintage picture3dfx voodo 2000 16mb agp video card for vintage gaming
$39.0
3dfx voodo 2000 16mb agp video card for vintage gaming pictureat&t 6300 vintage computer PC XT 8086 cpu Olivetti Italy REVISED monitor & KB
$199.0
at&t 6300 vintage computer PC XT 8086 cpu Olivetti Italy REVISED monitor & KB pictureThe Eidolon Commodore 64 RARE LucasFilm / Epyx Vintage Game C64 Software
$9.99
The Eidolon Commodore 64 RARE LucasFilm / Epyx Vintage Game C64 Software pictureRescue on Fractalus Commodore 64 RARE LucasFilm/Epyx Vintage Game C64 Software
$9.99
Rescue on Fractalus Commodore 64 RARE LucasFilm/Epyx Vintage Game C64 Software picture