Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: win partition issue

Junior Member registered user

win partition issue

Hey all

I am fairly new to knoppix and so far I am impressed with speed end everything.

To get right to the point - there is a defect disk drive in my computer, BIOS can detect it only as single master drive.
    So, I cant really copy files to another drive even if I could access win partition.

My question is what must I do to be able to access win partition (I need about 400+MB of photoson it).
    Error says - could not enter folder mnt/hd1

If I access win partition then I could upload it all to FTP server or something...
    Or burn it to CD...

Please, help me.

Edited

I changed read/write permissions, I can access hdd now but nothing seems to be there.
    Strange.
    In winternals disk commander all of 19GB can be seen there...
    hmm.
    Any ideas?

Administrator Site Admin-
    As you say, you can transfer files to another computer bt FTP; I like to set up an FTP server on another system on my local network and use the Knoquror window that opens when Knoppix starts as an FTP client. There are other ways to transfer files across the local network too.

Other options include saving to a USB flash device (or any UBS removable disk), replacing that dead hard drive with a hard drive with a FAT partition on it, and burning a CD. To burn the CD you'll either need multiple optical drives or enough memory to load Knoppix to ram (with the toram cheat code). As an alternative if you only have one drive you can download and burn a copy of Knoppix STD, a small (50 meg) distro based on Knoppix. Write it as the first session of a multi-session CD and leave the disk open for additional writes. Then you can boot this CD and use it and the writing tool included to write files to the remaining 650 megs (I have done this and it works well).

Harry Kuhman,

tnx for your input.

But for now, I cant even access the NTFS files.