Thread: Static IP won't function

Static IP won't function

I just got Knoppix 4.0.2 and I have to admit this is my first time with Knoppix.

DHCP isn't an option for me on my system and the static net-config I'm using should work.

What I have:

Host system is a Gateway 2000 M640 Laptop, running WinXP (I know, I know, but it's what I got).
    Pentium M
    2.13 GHz
    1 GIG Ram
    100 GIG HD, 70 GIG free

NIC = Broadcom Nextreme Gigabite Ethernet Card

Static IP info

IP = 172.17.65.38
    Mask = 255.255.255.192
    GW = 172.17.65.1
    DNS = servers as provided by ISP

This is a small private network with anywhere from 4 to 7 systems attached to it. DHCP is down since my wife let the grandson play some games on the server :<(.. I haven't gotten back to fixing it, the server that is. So I static IP'd all the systems. I need static IP on my system anyway, for admin purposes to my hdw firewalls/routers both here at home and work.

I also have VMWare installed on this system and it DCHP's within the system to get virtual NIC set ups and runs great with FC 3 and 4. I deleted the virtual Linux OS's to mke sure they weren't interferring

System aslo has a Intel Pro WiFi 2200bg NIC and PCMCIA adapter that I have used with a NIC.

Any ideas as to why the static IP won't work ?

What is really strange was when I set the broadcast to 172.17.65.1 rather than 172.17.65.255. As soon as I set .1 for bc, I could ping the inside interface of the firewall, but if I set it to .255 (as it should be) the system can't see it. I have checked the FW settings, problem is I'm not even able to get to the inside interface on FW using bc .255 and can't get any network access at all.

Administrator Site Admin-

Re: Static IP won't function

Quote Originally Posted by bearqst
    DHCP isn't an option for me on my system and the static net-config I'm using should work.

NIC = Broadcom Nextreme Gigabite Ethernet Card

Static IP info

IP = 172.17.65.38
    Mask = 255.255.255.192