Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: knoppix 3.2 on compaq presario r3200 notebook PROBLEM...

knoppix 3.2 on compaq presario r3200 notebook PROBLEM...

hELLO TO ALL...

So I got a problem with my operating system (windows xp) , I need to do a clean reinstall, but want to use knoppix to retrieve files off my notebook before doing so..This has brought me to this site, as I have never used knoppix before.. I know its a LINUX based system that can run off a cd...thats it..

knoppix 3.2 boots up from disk, then i get this message:

Welcome to the KNOPPIX live Linux-on-CD!
    Accessing KNOPPIX CDROM at /dev/scd0.../modules/cloop.o: init_module:
    Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters
    Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry.
    Dropping you to a (very limited) shell.
    Press reset button to quit.
    Additional builtin commands available:
    cat
    insmod
    mount
    rmmod
    umount
    lsmod

knoppix#

cAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME SORT THIS OUT SO i CAN USE KNOPPIX TO BACKUP MY FILES TO A CD OR EVEN TRANSFER THEM OVER MY WIRELESS ROUTER...?

Any help much appreciated!.. I will be online all day to respond to any replies...

knoppix v4 downloaded...

Just a quick note to anyone who maybe downloading knoppix for the sole purpose of retrieving files off a hard drive after their primary operating system crashes...

I found a clever program that creates a bootable xp disk

http://www.nu2.nu/

Of course, you have to have an xp disk to hand for this...

Anyway, just downloaded knoppix v4 and mounted the iso to cd...will report back in a bit..

Senior Member registered user

Re: knoppix 3.2 on compaq presario r3200 notebook PROBLEM...

Quote Originally Posted by kel333
    knoppix 3.2 boots up from disk, then i get this message