Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Clock/Timezone error

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    42

    Clock/Timezone error

    I'm running the HD-install "boot like the CDROM" version of Knoppix 4.0.2 to provide a fileserver for the other machines on the network. Almost everything works as it should (just a few challenges left to sort.)

    However, I have a timezone glitch. The machine knows that I'm in England (calls it London, but hey), and that I use GMT. Stuff it pulls off the other machines or off the Internet that's time-based displays right. BUT the clock on the PC is 5 hours ahead. If I reset it, it's fine but it will be 5 hours ahead again when I restart the machine. It seems convinced that it's somewhere 5 hours behind GMT. If I forget, I get some wacky timestamps on files.

    Anyone have any ideas how to get to work in real GMT and not add 5 hours at boot?

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    38
    I had this problem - set the timezone to 'local' and see what happens.

  3. #3
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    42
    Yes - it's on "Local", but screws up the clock on every reboot.

    I have a suspicion the "system" stores something in a read-only file somewhere, which forces it to treat the systemn clock as being in EST on bootup, regardless of other settings.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    it likes to live on New York time
    mine too

    make sure I know when we find the prob

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    godammit !!! SUCCESS !!!!!!

    only taken me all day, and i don't usually last that long with the looking and researching and constant rebooting
    to check things
    while you forget what you were checking
    and go and do something else
    etc
    etc
    etc


    http://www.infodrom.org/Debian/doc/m...-sysadmin.html

    right, we need the timezone set AND the clock

    doing the
    tzselect
    will show you what you need to put somewhere, namely
    /home/username/.profile
    thats a file in the home directory, not a directory
    and it needs to be setup from the user dosshell too
    i did one from the root dos shell, and the permissions on the file weren't right for the user to read it

    but if you then set the clock and reboot it puts that danged New York time where you just were and then sets the TZ set zone relative to New York
    again

    well, looking at the link further up....
    /etc/default/rcS
    change the
    UTC=no to yes
    and reboot
    and set the time
    and reboot
    and check it
    and reboot
    and feel very satisfied
    and smug
    and i'm currently doing my 6 other systems to check
    but so far
    SINGS
    I feel good, nananananana
    I knew that I would now
    /SINGS

  6. #6

Similar Threads

  1. Setting sydney timezone
    By marghanita in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2007, 11:58 PM
  2. hardware clock synchronization error
    By jfdesign in forum Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2005, 04:28 AM
  3. Knoppix HD autoconfiguration (timezone)
    By pavel7nl in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2005, 09:57 PM
  4. Getting the timezone correct
    By el_supremo in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-18-2004, 10:19 PM
  5. Updating local pc clock from a atomic clock site???
    By Cuddles in forum General Support
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-03-2004, 08:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •