Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: not connected to internet

Junior Member registered user

not connected to internet

hiya

linux-newbie here, so please be gentle.

i have a dvd with knoppix 4.0.1 which im trying to use with my pII 350 mhz win98 computer. i can boot it, which is really cool, but it will not connect to the internet. when i try to configure adsl it says the access concentrator of your provider did not respond and on firefox it says webpage could not be found. i have a 2MB adsl connection, and the network card is recognized as 3c59x (i have 3c 900B-Combo).

sorry if this is not enough info, i will gladly provide more if i know what to look for. please please help, i want to use linux! thanks.

Administrator Site Admin-

Re: not connected to internet

Quote Originally Posted by billabill
    --- and on firefox it says webpage could not be found. i have a 2MB adsl connection, and the network card is recognized as 3c59x (i have 3c 900B-Combo).
    Sounds like you may be helped by my generic answer #4.

Thanks Harry, I will get myself a router. Forgot to say that I use a zyxel prestige 600 series modem also, but maybe that makes no difference?

BAB

Forgot to say that I use a zyxel prestige 600 series modem also, but maybe that makes no difference?
    It does make a difference in that many newer DSL modems include built in routers. Some times they are there but not enabled. I don't know about your particular modem; I'll leave you to research that.

Without a router you need to run PPPoE software (or other protocol software in parts of Europe). While Knoppix has PPPoE support I've never used it and as I said I really can't understand trying to run without a router any more.

Thanks again Harry. It seems my modem (660h) does not have a router built in, while some other zyxel modems have (660hw,662hw). So I will buy a router. Anything I should know when buying a router or can I just buy a router?