Thread: Trying to connect to internet w/ IBM T41p and cable internet

Trying to connect to internet w/ IBM T41p and cable internet

Hello all,

I want to start out by admitting that I am a complete noob to Linux. Knoppix has been recommended by others as a good starting point, so I wanted to give it a shot. Fortunately the boot process seems to work out just fine, but once I am in Knoppix, I am totally overwhelmed. I think the first step I would like to do is get my internet working through Linux, so I can browse newbie tutorials on the web while using Knoppix. I have seen Answer #3 a lot, so I will try to provide as much information as possible.

"If you were referenced to answer #3, it's most likely because you want network help, but have omitted critical information about your network, like what NIC hardware you are using, what router (make and model), or even what type of service you have (DSL is different than cable, we need to know if we are going to help). It also helps if you give people the result of simple basic commands, like netcardconfig. If your response has USB in it anywhere someone may still help you, but I will not be responding. USB is an awful technology to mix with networking and causes awful problems. If your ISP provided USB equipment, insist on true ethernet interfaces instead."