Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Could not mount Fedora

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    8

    Could not mount Fedora

    Hi there
    I need to fix some files on my Fedora Linux. I run Knoppix and everything seemed great , I have Fedora running dual boot with XP and Knoppix mounted all the partitions succesfuly ,except the one I need -hda7 ( Fedora) . When I click on it I get an error:
    Code:
    Could not mount device
    mount: I could not determine the file system type, and none was specified
    What can I do?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    228
    what filesystem type is hda7 (ext2, ext3, reiserfs, etc)?

    what does /etc/fstab report?

    if knoppix is detecting it incorrectly (unlikley in my experience) you could try editing fstab to change the file system type.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    8
    when i run cfdisk from knoppix i get :
    Code:
    hda 7             Logical     Linux LVM                                    27554.69
    is LVM mounted in a different way than say ext3?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    135

    Could not mount Fedora

    LVM (Logical Volume Management) is a storage method not a filesystem type. Your fedora filesystem resides inside this logical volume.

    Does knoppix support LVMs?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    8
    I found out how to mount it, using this guide : http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/LVM2
    But I cannot change the permissions- its still read-only.
    Does anyone know how to do it?

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    135

    Could not mount Fedora

    Good catch on this issue.

    By default, knoppix mounts any external filesystem read only. You may just have to remount the file system read/write (or explicity mount it rw).

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    228
    after mounting manually, if you want to remount as read / write from the command line, you could run (as root)

    mount -o remount,rw,dev /dev/hda7

    should work.

Similar Threads

  1. How to access drives LVM ? (Fedora)
    By cuban_cigar in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 06:04 AM
  2. knoppix autoconfig on fedora linux
    By fales in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-24-2006, 11:26 AM
  3. Linux Fedora Core 4
    By shadyaftermath in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2005, 11:12 PM
  4. compiling cloop on fedora core 2
    By scottsavarese in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2004, 05:48 PM
  5. Knoppix vs Fedora
    By manatarms1775 in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-30-2004, 08:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •