Thread: sudo passwd not working

sudo passwd not working

I have knoppix installed from my live CD that i downloaded off the internet and i can't change the root password. it says that my account name isnt in the "sudoers" list or something like that. please help me, i realy want to use samba!

Junior Member registered user
    open a root window
    type
    kwrite /etc/sudoers

make a copy of root and change the user name to you.
    save it

you can now issue sudo commands.

what do u mean "open a root window"?
    (yes, im a noob!)

Administrator Site Admin-

What's wrong with this picture?

Quote Originally Posted by jetman36
    I have knoppix installed from my live CD....
    what do u mean "open a root window"?
    (yes, im a noob!)
    What's wrong with this picture? Knoppix is not intended for Install, best left for experienced users, yet here we have someone who ignores that advice and then posts that that are a noob and don't even know what "open a root window" means! If ever there was a time to post my stock answer #2, this is it. Of course there is also a slim hope that they don't know what Instaled means, but I'm not counting on that.

I'm well aware of the problem with installing knoppix to the hdd, i just thought their might be a fix to my problem, thats all. and i know your a moderator, so not to sound mean or disrespectful but, have you heard of the term "flaming"?

I'm well aware of the problem with installing knoppix to the hdd, i just thought their might be a fix to my problem, thats all. and i know your a moderator, so not to sound mean or disrespectful but, have you heard of the term "flaming"?