Thread: Problem connecting Knoppix to internet

Junior Member registered user

Problem connecting Knoppix to internet

I'm new to Knoppix/Linux, so I am not exactly familiar with it.

I booted my Knoppix 4.0 LiveCD from my PC's CR-Rom drive. The boot sequence went o.k. and I could run the Knoppix GUI, however, I could not use the internet as Knoppix doent seem to be connected.

I have blueyonder broadband (ADSL) connection via a router which works fine when I run it in the Window mode.

Any help/suggestions appreciated.

Administrator Site Admin-
    Most of the time if you have a router Knoppix will just DHCP handshake with it and everything is set up fine for you.

Are you sure that this is not the case? I don't mean to insult you but we have had people ask this question when they were already on the Internet but had just not tried to put a URL in the browser window!

Assuming that you are not getting a DHCP setup, I would start with power cycling the router, which often resolves the issue. On a few occasions people have reported having to reset the router and then were in good shape. Also, if you have any filtering in place in the router, particularly MAC address filtering, disable it.

I have had problems with an old Belkin router not handshaking with Knoppix properly (new ones seem better though). And there was a report here recently on someone having problems with a Best Buy store brand router (no resolution to that has been posted back yet). Why you didn't post the make and model of the router and your NIC I can't imagine, but it might let someone with the same equipment give you important information.

You may also have better results if you give up the DHCP lease before shutting the old OS down on that compuer. This shouldn't be needed but there are reports of some routers having problems with this. I have never seen it personally though and I have tested Knoppix on at least 10 different routers.