Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Newb getting REALLY confused about getting a usb stick on

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7

    Newb getting REALLY confused about getting a usb stick on

    My friend has a knackered up laptop and i want to use knoppix as a recovery tool to get data off the hard drive.

    Knoppix loads up perfectly on it and runs as smooth as anything (v 4.0.2).

    I've managed to mount the drive. Don't ask how, i've just been typing random commands in from this:
    # modprobe usb-storage

    # less /proc/modules

    #mkdir /mnt/sda1
    #mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
    #mount -o uid=knoppix -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
    #ls /mnt/sda1

    Now apparantly i'm supposed to have some command in the fstab file, but i can't add to that file.

    So now i can actually mount the USB stick, i can see whats in it, but i cannot write to it as it says i do not have permission. I have gone into the properties of the device and changed the permissions to 777 but still i cannot write to it.

    Please help, as i am completely stumped as to where to go and what to do from here.

    Thank you.

    Matt

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205
    Try first if you are able to write with sudo:
    Code:
    sudo touch /mnt/sda1/test
    If that creates a file "test", then you can try this: Create a directory and set knoppix as it's owner. Then you can write to that directory normally:
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /mnt/sda1/data
    sudo chown knoppix:knoppix /mnt/sda1/data
    After that you should be able to write to /mnt/sda1/data normally.
    ps. I don't know how to make it so that whole /mnt/sda1 can be written by a normal user, so this is what I normally use.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7
    Thank you for the extremely quick response.

    The Knoppix file seems to be working great.

    I've put the USB stick back in after getting some files off, and i've got the original problem where

    mount: can't find /mnt/sda1 in .etc/fstab or /etc/mtab

    Just wish i knew how i did it in the first place to be able to get around this.

    EDIT:

    Used same commands as i did before, but i'm getting a cannot mount device as already mounted or busy.

    Tried un mounting and mounting again, but to no avail.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by iam
    mount: can't find /mnt/sda1 in .etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
    You can get that if you only give /dev/sda1 OR /mnt/sda1. If you use both, you shouldn't get that error:
    Code:
    sudo mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7
    Used the command without the 'sudo' as i'm already in root. (i'm presuming thats what sudo means)

    Still getting the 'already mounted or busy' error when i try and open the usb drive from the desktop though.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you again.

    Matt

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by iam
    Used the command without the 'sudo' as i'm already in root. (i'm presuming thats what sudo means)
    Yes, I don't usually work as root, so I prefix all commands with "sudo"

    Quote Originally Posted by iam
    Still getting the 'already mounted or busy' error when i try and open the usb drive from the desktop though.
    Any ideas?
    You should allways unmount it before removing the USB-stick. If you didn't unmount, you might have some problems.
    If you are running Knoppix as LiveCD, easiest way might be to just reboot as then configurations will be reset.

    You could also try to start Konqueror and go to /mnt/hda1, or where the USB-stick is mounted instead of using the desktop-icon.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7
    Ok, i've nearly got this working

    Just having a problem with permissions now. Managed to mount the drive and open it, but can't drag and drop files because it says i don't have permission to do so, even though i have gone in and changed all the permissions.

    I'm gonna reboot, have another fiddle and see if i've just done it in the wrong order or something.

    Thanks for you help, made me understand whats going on a bit better.

    EDIT

    Lol, nope still can't get it to give me permission.

    Gone into properties and given it all read write and execute, and deselected the read only box.

    Didn't do any more the first time i got it working, so god only knows what i've done.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by iam
    Ok, i've nearly got this working :)

    Just having a problem with permissions now. Managed to mount the drive and open it, but can't drag and drop files because it says i don't have permission to do so, even though i have gone in and changed all the permissions.
    Did you try my earlier suggestion (use this after you have mounted it at /mnt/sda1)
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /mnt/sda1/data
    sudo chown knoppix:knoppix /mnt/sda1/data
    And then try to drag and drop to that "data" directory.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7
    No i didn't. Worked great again.

    One question though, why are there so many posts of this sequence:
    # modprobe usb-storage
    #mkdir /mnt/sda1
    #mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
    #mount -o uid=knoppix -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1

    The second mount command doesn't work because it says it's already mounted. So why do you need to do it after the first mount command?

    Thank you so much for all your help Malaire. Saved the day.

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by iam
    No i didn't. Worked great again.

    One question though, why are there so many posts of this sequence:
    #modprobe usb-storage
    #mkdir /mnt/sda1
    #mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
    #mount -o uid=knoppix -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1

    The second mount command doesn't work because it says it's already mounted. So why do you need to do it after the first mount command?
    You should only use one of the mount-commands not both. If someone says to use both, that's clearly an error as you can only use one of those.
    So if you want to use "uid=knoppix" with mount, only use that mount command, not the first one.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. I'm a little confused ............
    By limeylew in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-29-2009, 11:58 AM
  2. Confused
    By samhainbaphomet in forum General Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-04-2005, 11:04 AM
  3. very confused....
    By poundsmack in forum General Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-23-2004, 10:02 AM
  4. dpkg Confused
    By none1 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-07-2004, 12:55 AM
  5. Confused new user
    By phoward in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2003, 07:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 128GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 128GB H730 4xRJ45

$346.00



DELL PowerEdge R430 8SFF 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R430 8SFF 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$296.00



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD

$256.99



Dell Poweredge R730xd LFF 14-Bay 2U Server | Choose Your CPU & RAM Config picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd LFF 14-Bay 2U Server | Choose Your CPU & RAM Config

$509.99



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2640v3 2.60Ghz 16-Core 64GB H330 picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2640v3 2.60Ghz 16-Core 64GB H330

$182.65



HP ProLiant DL360 G9 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.60Ghz 24-Core 256GB P440ar picture

HP ProLiant DL360 G9 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.60Ghz 24-Core 256GB P440ar

$302.90



Dell PowerEdge T620 8-Bay LFF Xeon E5-2660 0 2.20GHz 48GB NO HDD S110 Server picture

Dell PowerEdge T620 8-Bay LFF Xeon E5-2660 0 2.20GHz 48GB NO HDD S110 Server

$174.99



Dell Poweredge R730xd 3.5 2x E5-2666 v3 2.9ghz  128gb  H730  14x Trays  2x 1100w picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd 3.5 2x E5-2666 v3 2.9ghz 128gb H730 14x Trays 2x 1100w

$519.99



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2680v3 2.5GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2680v3 2.5GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$249.00



Dell Poweredge R730xd 3.5 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 64gb H730 14x Trays 2x 1100w picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd 3.5 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 64gb H730 14x Trays 2x 1100w

$489.99