Thread: unable to mount and read hard disk partitions.

unable to mount and read hard disk partitions.

Hi. I am a linux newbie and recently tried to check out knoppix live cd. There are three primary partitions in my hard drive and one extended partition. Two of the primary partitions run windows(98 and xp). The third partition is blank. Knoppix boots up alright but does not show the hard drive partitions on the desktop. I have tried mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1. Even adding an entry /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 vfat umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0 to /etc/fstab does not work. I get error message saying "/dev/hda5 already mounted or /mnt/hda5 busy". By modifying desktop properties I was able to display unmounted hard drive partitions onto the desktop. On trying to mount hda1 from the desktop I get the error message "only root can mount". Trying to mount from root too does not work.
    Please help

Senior Member registered user
    I can try to give some help.

If you try to mount partitions manually using the "mount" command, I'd suggest that you use some other directory than /mnt/xxx (and don't modify /etc/fstab)

e.g.
    Code:
    mkdir /home/knoppix/hda1
    sudo mount /dev/hda1 /home/knoppix/hda1
    or
    Code:
    mkdir /home/knoppix/hda1
    sudo mount -t vfat -o umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 /dev/hda1 /home/knoppix/hda1
    The two primary partitions are probably /dev/hda1 and /dev/hda2.
    Empty extended partition is probably /dev/hda5, but if it doesn't have any filesystem on it, then you can't mount that partition before you create a filesystem on it.

Administrator Site Admin-
    Quote Originally Posted by malaire
    Empty extended partition is probably /dev/hda5, but if it doesn't have any filesystem on it, then you can't mount that partition before you create a filesystem on it.