Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Recognizing an External Firewire Hard Drive

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1

    Recognizing an External Firewire Hard Drive

    Hello all. I am hoping to get Knoppix to recognize a Lacie Firewire external hard drive.
    Any ideas? Thanks for any help!

    -john

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    As root do:

    modprobe ohci1394

    Then do lsmod and you should see the driver that you just put in listed.

    Then do:

    cdrecord -scanbus

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    11
    Hi rickenbacherus:

    I am following the suggestions you posted some time ago, when helping shiva777, and while it took me sometime to be able to mount the sda1 drive, I finally accomplished it.
    On your recommendations to shiva777 you wrote:
    ...................Then do cdrecord
    -scanbus,
    and the result of my cdrecord -scanbus is:
    root@ttyp0[knoppix]# cdrecord -scanbus
    Cdrecord 2.01a16 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2003 Jörg Schilling
    Linux sg driver version: 3.1.25
    Using libscg version 'schily-0.7'
    scsibus0:
    0,0,0 0) 'HITACHI ' 'DVD-ROM GD-S200 ' '0034' Removable CD-ROM
    0,1,0 1) *
    0,2,0 2) *
    0,3,0 3) *
    0,4,0 4) *
    0,5,0 5) *
    0,6,0 6) *
    0,7,0 7) *
    scsibus2:
    2,0,0 200) 'HP ' 'DVD Writer 200j ' '1.51' Removable CD-ROM
    2,1,0 201) 'WDC ' 'FireWire/USB2.0 ' '4.17' Disk
    2,2,0 202) *
    2,3,0 203) *
    2,4,0 204) *
    2,5,0 205) *
    2,6,0 206) *
    2,7,0 207) *
    root@ttyp0[knoppix]#
    As you ca see, the Western Digital is on scsibus2.
    Plese note that I can also go to the root directory, and list all files of the directory where I placed the sda1 (/f), but that is all I can do, I cannot open any of the .exe files. (Please note that this is Fat 32 hdd, and all files were created with W98SE)
    Now, when booting Knoppix, I can see two hda files -1 and 5-, plus the cdrom, knoppix and floppy icons. And when clicking on, say hda1, all files within this directory are shown in the screen, I can open doc files with Kword, I can also save docs to the floppy, which is how I copy the -scanbus info here......... and I would like to be able to do the same with the external Western Digital HD.
    I have created a couple of icons, by rigth clicking on desktop, but can not configure the created icons for the WDHD.
    Would you please help me to accomplish this? that is, to move all files from the sda1 to such icon, and when clicking on the icon all sda1 directory files should appear on the Konqueror window?

    Thanks and best regards

    Copeloa

  4. #4
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    11
    Hi:

    Have I offended anyone with my posts? I thought that this was the place to ask questions regarding knoppix and requests for help. My apologies if I have offended someone at all.

    Copeloa

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    148
    I'm adding to this post as I have a similar problem - external firewire drive is a Maxtor 40 GB.

    With Knoppix 3.2, the drive is automatically recognised at boot, and the partitions are displayed on the desktop. Here's the relevant parts of lsmod
    Code:
    sbp2                   16288   1
    ohci1394               15688   0 (unused)
    ieee1394               29516   0 [sbp2 ohci1394]
    With Knoppix 3.3, nothing. According to lsmod, the required modules are mounted, but things are a bit differnent to 3.2:
    Code:
    sbp2                   16524   0 (unused)
    ohci1394               22888   0 (unused)
    ieee1394              183332   0 [sbp2 ohci1394]
    sbp2 does seem to be used - is this my problem? What should I do/try next?

    On the linux 1394 site, they say to to modprobe the various modules (when starting it up); modprobe raw1394 (do I need this?) gives the following result:
    Code:
    knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$ modprobe raw1394
    /lib/modules/2.4.22-xfs/kernel/drivers/ieee1394/raw1394.o: create_module: Operation not permitted
    /lib/modules/2.4.22-xfs/kernel/drivers/ieee1394/raw1394.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.22-xfs/kernel/drivers/ieee1394/raw1394.o failed
    /lib/modules/2.4.22-xfs/kernel/drivers/ieee1394/raw1394.o: insmod raw1394 failed
    Not sure if this is relevant, but here's a section of my dmesg where it refers to the modules:
    Code:
    ohci1394: $Rev: 1010 $ Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>
    PCI: Setting latency timer of device 02:00.0 to 64
    ohci1394_0: OHCI-1394 1.0 (PCI): IRQ=[9]  MMIO=[10800000-108007ff]  Max Packet=[2048]
    spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7.
    ieee1394: Node added: ID:BUS[0-00:1023]  GUID[0010b900100001d0]
    ieee1394: Host added: ID:BUS[0-01:1023]  GUID[009007010100000f]
    sbp2: $Rev: 1010 $ Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>
    scsi2 : SCSI emulation for IEEE-1394 SBP-2 Devices
    ieee1394: sbp2: Logged into SBP-2 device
    ieee1394: sbp2: Node 0-00:1023: Max speed [S400] - Max payload [2048]
    And lastly, here's the reult of lspci:
    Code:
    knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$ cat /proc/bus/ieee1394/devices
    Node[0-00:1023]  GUID[0010b900100001d0]:
      Vendor ID: `Maxtor' [0x0010b9]
      Capabilities: 0x0083c0
      Bus Options:
        IRMC(0) CMC(0) ISC(0) BMC(0) PMC(0) GEN(0)
        LSPD(2) MAX_REC(64) CYC_CLK_ACC(255)
      Unit Directory 0:
        Vendor/Model ID: Maxtor [0010b9] / 1394 Disk Drive [000000]
        Software Specifier ID: 00609e
        Software Version: 010483
        Driver: SBP2 Driver
        Length (in quads): 8
    Node[0-01:1023]  GUID[009007010100000f]:
      Vendor ID: `Linux OHCI-1394' [0x000000]
      Capabilities: 0x0083c0
      Bus Options:
        IRMC(1) CMC(1) ISC(1) BMC(0) PMC(0) GEN(0)
        LSPD(2) MAX_REC(2048) CYC_CLK_ACC(0)
      Host Node Status:
        Host Driver     : ohci1394
        Nodes connected : 2
        Nodes active    : 2
        SelfIDs received: 2
        Irm ID          : [0-01:1023]
        BusMgr ID       : [0-63:1023]
        In Bus Reset    : no
        Root            : yes
        Cycle Master    : yes
        IRM             : yes
        Bus Manager     : no
    Thanks in advance for any tips...

    p.s. using the latest Sep build of Knoppix; here's what dmesg says:
    Code:
    Linux version 2.4.22-xfs (root@Knoppix) (gcc version 2.95.4 20011002 (Debian prerelease)) #1 SMP Fr Sep 19 17:55:45 CEST 2003
    p.p.s I did try the tool 'gscanbus' (from one of the menus) - can't remember exactly the outcome, but didn't solve my problem :(

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1
    Just a small update so people who read this thread don't get confused:

    The last user did the mistake that he wasn't "root" (=administrator). If you run in this problem, then just type "su" in the command line and try again.

    Getting external firewire harddrives to work:
    1 - open a terminal (e.g. konsole)
    2 - become root (type command "su")
    3 - Load firewire modules (type "modprobe ohci1394; modprobe raw1394")
    4 - use gscanbus to see if it was detected (type "gscanbus" and look if the drive is there)
    5 - mount the new drive (type "mkdir /mnt/sda1; mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1". Try other numbers, if this doesn't work.)

    Quick'n'dirty. Correct if there are mistakes (just of my head).

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    19
    Firewire:

    (load firewire kernel modules)

    The trick is to use the script rescan-scsi-bus.sh on http://www.linux1394.org/sbp2.html if gscanbus and cdrecord -scanbus don't work for you.

    rescan-scsi-bus.sh

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1

    Problem mounting external firewire disk

    I have run modprobe ieee1394; modprobe ohci1394; modprobe sbp2 without any error messages.

    I have run gscanbus, which shows the firewire drive.

    But then what?

    I've tried doing mkdir /mnt/fw; mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/fw, but get the error message "mount: /dev/sda1 is not a valid block device". I tried with sda2, sda3, sda4, sdc1, etc, but get the same error message.

    I tried running rescan-scsi-bus.sh, and the firewire drive shows up at scsi2: 0 0 0.

    How am I supposed to know the device name (path) of the firewire disk?

    Help would be very much appreciated

    .Thomas

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    148
    I tried running rescan-scsi-bus.sh, and the firewire drive shows up at scsi2: 0 0 0.
    I'm pretty newbie-ish myself, but sounds as though you have two scsi devices, in which case your external HDD may be sdb rather than sda . Basically sd = scsi (not ide) device; a = 1st device, b = 2nd device, c = 3rd device and so on; lastly the figure after that refers to the partition.

    After executing rescan-scsi-bus.sh, use fdisk (!) for a list of disks and their partitions, e.g.
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    or you might have to type
    Code:
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    Then do the mkdir and mount as you've been trying.

  10. #10
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    14
    Sigh!
    Its depressing how many days i've been stuck with this shit now.
    Its the first time i really need to ask somebody for help. Im a newbie by the way, ive just got half a years experience or so.

    Well, i've modprobed ochi1394, raw1394 and ieee1394 in order to get the darn maxtor-hd to run. Ive used the rescan-scsi-bus.sh but i still cant mount the bastard.

    cdrecord -scanbus gives me the following:
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Linux sg driver version: 3.1.25
    Using libscg version 'schily-0.8'.
    scsibus0:
    0,0,0 0) 'TOSHIBA ' 'DVD-ROM SD-R2102' '1016' Removable CD-ROM
    0,1,0 1) *
    0,2,0 2) *
    0,3,0 3) *
    0,4,0 4) *
    0,5,0 5) *
    0,6,0 6) *
    0,7,0 7) *
    scsibus1:
    1,0,0 100) 'Maxtor ' '5000DV ' '0100' Disk
    1,1,0 101) *
    1,2,0 102) *
    1,3,0 103) *
    1,4,0 104) *
    1,5,0 105) *
    1,6,0 106) *
    1,7,0 107) *

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ...and fdisk -l actally gives the following:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Disk /dev/sda: 163.9 GB, 163927556096 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19929 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 19929 160079661 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    But when i try lsmod i just get this:

    Module Size Used by Not tainted
    raw1394 19252 0 (unused)
    sbp2 16588 0
    ohci1394 22888 0 (unused)
    ieee1394 183268 0 [raw1394 sbp2 ohci1394]
    parport_pc 24840 1 (autoclean)

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Here's a line from lspci, by the way

    02:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    i mkdir, and then when i try to mount /dev/sda1 i just get this evilness:

    mount: can't find /dev/sda1 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Everything works just lovely in Xandros (but who the heck wants to use that profithungry payware monster OS anyway? I dont, but i at least wanted to have a look at it.)
    Oh, Im using knoppix (3.3) 19-02-2004, by the way.

    It incredible how much one can learn from reading interesting stuff in this forum, and i hope that if someone can help me, it will be of benefit for others thats got the same kind of trouble as me.

    Take care,
    Scopenhauer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. external enclosure hard drive
    By thrustan in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-11-2005, 11:36 PM
  2. Booting from external USB hard drive
    By mbl in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-21-2004, 03:17 PM
  3. External Hard Drive question
    By Phatmonkey in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 09:44 PM
  4. Could not write to ... External USB Hard Drive
    By autumnhome in forum General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-14-2004, 07:45 PM
  5. Maxtor External USB Hard drive
    By Breakout42 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-18-2004, 11:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System

$359.99



IBM x3550 7042-CR4 Server System Intel Xeon 5130 2.00Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 1GB No HD picture

IBM x3550 7042-CR4 Server System Intel Xeon 5130 2.00Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 1GB No HD

$139.99



IBM Netezza 3567 picture

IBM Netezza 3567

$5675.00



IBM Server System X3100 M4 | Xeon @ 3.10 Ghz | 8GB | 250GB HDD No OS (IG-PC26) picture

IBM Server System X3100 M4 | Xeon @ 3.10 Ghz | 8GB | 250GB HDD No OS (IG-PC26)

$96.01



IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD picture

IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD

$84.50



IBM System X3100 M5 (PN: 5457-AC1) Server picture

IBM System X3100 M5 (PN: 5457-AC1) Server

$275.00



IBM AC1 8722 4xIntel Xeon 2.2 GHz 8 Cores Server w/64GB/DVDRW/PS WORKS  picture

IBM AC1 8722 4xIntel Xeon 2.2 GHz 8 Cores Server w/64GB/DVDRW/PS WORKS

$83.95



IBM Power 740 8205-E6C Express 8-SFF Power7 3.55GHz CPU 64GB RAM *No HDD* Server picture

IBM Power 740 8205-E6C Express 8-SFF Power7 3.55GHz CPU 64GB RAM *No HDD* Server

$191.99



IBM x3550 M4 7042-CR8 6-Bay Server System Intel Xeon E5-2640v2 2.50Ghz 8GB No HD picture

IBM x3550 M4 7042-CR8 6-Bay Server System Intel Xeon E5-2640v2 2.50Ghz 8GB No HD

$419.99



1U IBM x3550 M5 4 Bay SFF SAS3 Server 2x E5-2683 V3 28 Core 128GB DDR4 2x Tray picture

1U IBM x3550 M5 4 Bay SFF SAS3 Server 2x E5-2683 V3 28 Core 128GB DDR4 2x Tray

$318.00