Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: i can not edit a file as a root

Junior Member registered user

i can not edit a file as a root

hi,
    i am a total noobie and i have tried a foe distroes but knoppix 4.0 seemed like the one for me
    i installed it, all of the hard drives mounted automaticly /i didnt write any commands in the konsole/
    it plays mp3 from a ntfs drive perfectly
    but i have problems with the video files /*.avi etc/
    i read that i sholud install plugins and codecs w32 and so on ...
    i downloaded them but i cant install them
    than i read that i should add some more lines in a file which is in the root /the house icon/ in etc folder in subfolder apt
    so i found the file but i cant save it after the adding of those few line
    it says to me that i am not alowwed and i have no permission to write this file
    i tried everything which i found i google and nothing worked
    i beg you for help

i also want to ask u 4 some info for cyrlic fonts and for a dc++ client

thank u

Senior Member registered user
    Code:
    su
    mcedit /[directory]/[filename]

Administrator Site Admin-

Re: i can not edit a file as a root

Quote Originally Posted by _d5
    i am a total noobie and i have tried a foe distroes but knoppix 4.0 seemed like the one for me
    i installed it........
    Were any of those foe distros that you tried Debian? Particularly Debian Etch, the distro that Knoppix is based on and is actually intended for hard disk install? I'm hard pressed to understand why anyone would choose Knoppix over a distro that is not a source of problems when installed to hard disk. Most of the time the reason for this is the baby duck syndrome, but you say you actually tried others.

Quote Originally Posted by Harry Kuhman
    i installed it........