Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Just can't figure this out (wireless)...

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    20

    Just can't figure this out (wireless)...

    Hi,
    I finally started running Knoppix Live CD, and everything works great with one exception: I can't connect to the internet. I tried everything, but to no avail. This is wireless, and the router is a D-Link DL-624, and the thing in the recieving end is a Linksys PCI card (B). I ran ifconfig, and this was the result:

    Code:
    eth1
    Link encap: UNSPEC HWaddr 00-01-08-00-20-01-39-08-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    inet addr: 192.168.0.1  B cast: 192.168.0.255  Mask: 255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MILTICAST MTU: 1500  Metric: 1
    RX packets: 0  errors: 0  dropped: 0  overruns: 0  frame: 0
    TX packets: 102  errors: 8  dropped: 8  overruns: 0  carrier: 0
    collisions: 0 txqueuelen: 1000
    RX bytes: 0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes: 3672 (3.5 KiB)
    
    eth2
    Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:08:01:08:6A
    inet addr: 192.168.0.1  B cast: 192.168.0.255  Mask: 255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MILTICAST MTU: 1500  Metric: 1
    RX packets: 0  errors: 0  dropped: 0  overruns: 0  frame: 0
    TX packets: 0  errors: 0  dropped: 0  overruns: 0  carrier: 0
    collisions: 0 txqueuelen: 1000
    RX bytes: 0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:  (0.0 KiB)
    Interrupt: 16  Base address: 0xec00
    
    lo
    Link encap: Local Loopback
    inet addr:  127.0.0.1  Mask:  255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr:  ::1/128  Scope: Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU: 16436  Metric: 1
    RX packets: 406  errors: 0  dropped: 0  overruns: 0  frame: 0
    TX packets: 406  errors: 0  dropped: 0  overruns: 0  carrier: 0
    collisions: 0 txqueuelen: 0
    RX bytes: 29007 (28.3 KiB)  TX bytes: 29007 (28.3 KiB)
    I've tried several different things, but nothing works. Can someone please give me a step by step tutorial as to what do do?

    Thanks in advance!

    Specs:
    Dell Dimension 8200
    Knoppix 5.0.1 CD
    2x hard drives
    512 MB ram

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    228
    You cannot assign the same IP address (192.168.0.1) to two different network adapters. What's the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    iwconfig

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    20
    OK I did those two, and these were the results: (and for the sake of my hand while copying it down a lot is abbreviated, but understandable)

    ifconfig -a
    Code:
    eth0:
    Link encap: Ethernet  HWaddr  00:06:25:1B:AD:5C
    Broadcast multicast  mtu: 1500  metric: 1
    RX packets, errors, etc: all 0
    TX: all 0
    collisions: 0  txqueuelen: 1000
    RX+TX bytes: 0
    interrups: 9  base address: 0x4000
    
    eth1
    same as eth0, except:
    HWaddr  00:01:08:01:08:6A
    interrupt:  16  base addr: 0x2c00
    
    eth2 -00
    same as eth0 except:
    Link encap: unspec
    HWaddr: 00-01-08-00-20-01-39-08-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    TX errors, dropped are 4
    no line for interrupt/base addr
    
    lo
    Link encap: local loopback
    inet addr: 127.0.0.1  Mask:  255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr:  ::1/128  Scope: host
    up loopback running MTU: 16436  Metric: 1
    RX+TX packets 62, all else 0
    coll.+txqueu: 0
    RXbytes: 4300 (4.1 KiB), same with TX
    
    sit0
    Link encap: IPv6-in-IPv4
    NOARP  MTU: 1480  Metric: 1
    RX+TX all 0
    coll+txqueu: 0
    RX+TX byes: 0
    And for iwconfig:
    Code:
    lo: no wireless extensions
    
    eth0: IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:off/any  Nickname:  "Broadcom 7301"
    Mode: managed  access point: invalid  Bitrate=1 MB/s
    RTS thr: off  Fragment thr: off
    Link quality, signal level, noise level: 0
    RX invalid nwid, crypt, frag: 0
    TX excessive retries, invalid misc, missed beacon: 0
    
    eth1, eth2, sit0: same as lo
    Keep in mind that this was after a reboot.
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    228
    access point: invalid
    This doesn't look good, but we can give it try. Log in to the router and disable encryption (we can deal with that later).
    Code:
    su
    ifdown eth1
    ifdown eth2
    iwconfig eth0 essid "mynet" mode Managed channel X
    dhclient eth0
    mynet= ESSID of your WLAN
    X=numeric value for channel

    By the way: You don't have to type, just use copy & paste.

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by ockham23
    access point: invalid
    This doesn't look good, but we can give it try. Log in to the router and disable encryption (we can deal with that later).
    Code:
    su
    ifdown eth1
    ifdown eth2
    iwconfig eth0 essid "mynet" mode Managed channel X
    dhclient eth0
    mynet= ESSID of your WLAN
    X=numeric value for channel

    By the way: You don't have to type, just use copy & paste.
    Few questions: How do I log into the router and disable encryption?
    How do I determine the ESSID?
    How do I determine the value for my channel?
    And all 5 of those lines are seperate entries, right?

    I'm not an idiot when it comes to computers, I'm just used to the automation of Windows, and how it determines all this automatically. Bear with me, this is all new to me.
    Also I can't copy and paste cause I'm writing this on a different computer...and I would do it on the one with Knoppix on it, but I cant connect to the internet and it takes to long to constantly switch OS's.

    Thanks again for your patience.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    N42.41 W73 and change
    Posts
    401
    If the OP could give a bit more info on the hardware setup, for example the output of: lspci -v
    , we could get a better idea of whats going on, Also the output of lsmod, to see if drivers for a wireless device have been installed.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    228
    Also I can't copy and paste cause I'm writing this on a different computer...and I would do it on the one with Knoppix on it, but I cant connect to the internet and it takes to long to constantly switch OS's
    Do you have a USB thumb drive?

  8. #8
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by ockham23
    Also I can't copy and paste cause I'm writing this on a different computer...and I would do it on the one with Knoppix on it, but I cant connect to the internet and it takes to long to constantly switch OS's
    Do you have a USB thumb drive?
    Yeah, didn't think of that.

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    228
    Few questions: How do I log into the router and disable encryption? You need a network cable to connect to it and a password to log in.

    How do I determine the ESSID? After login, you can retrieve the router's settings.
    How do I determine the value for my channel? Same as above.

    And all 5 of those lines are seperate entries, right? Yes, each line is a separate command.

  10. #10
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by rusty
    If the OP could give a bit more info on the hardware setup, for example the output of: lspci -v
    , we could get a better idea of whats going on, Also the output of lsmod, to see if drivers for a wireless device have been installed.
    OK I did those two. The outputs were rediculously long, so they are condensed. I will remember to put them on a thumb drive from now on

    Here is lspci -v
    Code:
    intel corp 82850 850 (tehama) chipset host bridge
    intel corp 82850 850 (tehama) chipset asp bridge
    intel corp 82850 850 (tehama) chipset pci bridge
    intel corp 82801 (tehama) chipset ISA bridge
    Intel corp 82801BA IDE U100
    intel corp 82801/BAM USB
    intel corp 82801/BAM smbus
    vga compatible controller: nvidia nv36 geforce fx 5700 le
    broadcom corp bcm4303 802.11b wireless lan controller
    cirrus logic cs 4614/22/24
    3com corp. modem division 56k fax modem model 5610
    hint corp hb6 universal pci-pci bridge
    realtek semiconductor co, ltd. rtl-8139/8139c/8139c+
    texas instruments tsb43ab23 ieee-1394a-2000 controller
    nec corp usb
    nec corp usb
    nec corp usb
    And for lsmod:
    Code:
    ipvb
    sworks_agp
    nvidia_agp
    ati_agp
    amd_k7_agp
    ali_agp
    af_packet
    dm_mod
    fuse
    tsdev
    hy_random
    snd_cs46xx
    gameport
    snd_rawmidi
    snd_seq_device
    snd_ac97_codec
    snd_ac97_bus
    snd_pcm_oss
    snd_mixer_oss
    snd_timer
    shpchp
    8139too
    mii
    8250_pnp
    intel_agp
    pci_hotplug
    snd
    i2c_i801
    i2c_core
    parport_pc
    parport
    serio_raw
    bcm43xx
    ieee80211softmac
    ieee80211
    ieee80211_crypt
    8250_pci
    8250
    serial_core
    soundcore
    snd_page_alloc
    agpgart
    ide_floppy
    evdev
    usbhid
    pcmcia
    firewire_class
    yetna_socket
    rsrc_nonstatic
    pcmcia_core
    video
    thermal
    processor
    fan
    container
    button
    battery
    ac
    unionfs
    cloop
    sbp2
    ohci1394
    ieee1394
    usb_storage
    ohci_hcd
    uhci_hcd
    ehci_hcd
    usbcore

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Who wants to help me figure this friggin sound card out
    By jomi822 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2007, 02:34 AM
  2. How to figure out external HDs (iPod)
    By Olav in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-17-2006, 08:50 AM
  3. Using a WPC11 v4...cant figure it out.
    By mehaase in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-07-2005, 12:01 PM
  4. Cant Figure Out Error...
    By thehydra in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2005, 06:20 PM
  5. Lyx Error when inserting figure floats
    By roli in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2004, 10:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox

$340.00



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.6GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.6GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$274.00



Dell PowerEdge R720XD Xeon E5-2680 V2 2.8GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 12x4TB picture

Dell PowerEdge R720XD Xeon E5-2680 V2 2.8GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 12x4TB

$510.00



Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD

$389.99



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v1 2.2GHz 16 Cores 256GB RAM 2x 300GB HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v1 2.2GHz 16 Cores 256GB RAM 2x 300GB HDD

$79.19



Dell Emc R750  Computer Poweredge edge racked server. picture

Dell Emc R750 Computer Poweredge edge racked server.

$750.00



Dell PowerEdge R730, 2 sinks, SystemBoard, 8 trays,H330,Idrac 8 exp, 2x750w Psu picture

Dell PowerEdge R730, 2 sinks, SystemBoard, 8 trays,H330,Idrac 8 exp, 2x750w Psu

$135.00



CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs picture

CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs

$246.67



Dell PowerEdge R720 Server | 2x E5-2660 2.2GHz | 128GB Ram | 1.2TB HDD | H710P picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server | 2x E5-2660 2.2GHz | 128GB Ram | 1.2TB HDD | H710P

$179.00



Dell PowerEdge R830 Server E5-4627 V4 No RAM NO HDDs. READ picture

Dell PowerEdge R830 Server E5-4627 V4 No RAM NO HDDs. READ

$499.00