Thread: Dual Boot Of Windows XP And Knoppix From Hard Drive

Dual Boot Of Windows XP And Knoppix From Hard Drive

I am rather new at this sort of thing. I have managed to install knoppix to my hardrive on a seperate partition without any problems. However when i turn my computer on it displays a list of operating systems, it gives the choice of knoppix or of windows, and knoppix is first. It selects this to boot from after 5 seconds. How would i go about changing it to have windows as the first choice? (there is nothing in the bios for windows about the choices because i have already checked) Thanks

Junior Member registered user
    You need to go to /boot/grub/menu.lst where you can change all the boot options. You will probably need to do this as root. Each option is self explanitory but read carefully and make sure you understand it all before changing anything. It should automatically make a backup of your original. You might want to upgrade to Kanotix which is Knoppix designed for a hard drive install.

As i said im a rookie. Any tips on how to do this would be greatly appreciated. I can cope with windows but wen it comes to linux.... lol. Thanks for the tip about kanotix. Ill definately look into it!!

Administrator Site Admin-
    Quote Originally Posted by 03myersd
    Thanks for the tip about kanotix. Ill definately look into it!!