Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: After logout system freezes

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    19

    After logout system freezes

    Using Knoppix 3.2 hdinstall, quite new sub version.

    Problem:
    After pressing log out button, the X is shut down (*I think*) and then monitor falls asleep, this happens quite quickly, around 20 sec I think. Then, it doesn't listen to any commands, such as mouse movement, or keyboard, I tryed CTRL+ALT+DEL, CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE.

    Additional information:
    CPU: AMD AthlonXP 1700+, RAM: 256mb DDR, SWAP: 517mb, LINUX PART - EXT3 - around 6GB, VID: ATI Radeon 7500.
    Using KDE 3.1, with a custom theme.

    This seems to be happening every time I try it. And the only way out of this is pressing the Reboot button on computer.

    Possible idea about what is causing it:
    Since, in Knoppix, when the X is closed, the computer will be shut down. Now, I think this might be a bug, that the hdinstall, will possibly try to do this also, but well it will not succeed.

    Anyway, well, Knoppix was a wonderful solution to install Debian And it is also a great rescure disk. Good work!

    And, ugh, since I am not farmiliar with all this stuff, then is it possible to run 2 desktop enviorments at the same time. when KDE is up and running, would it be possible to start FluxBox in another thread. I tryed pressing CTRL+ALT+F6, then logging in, and then "startx", but it gave me an error.

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    95
    You've got a Radeon card. This is a problem with XFree86 that whenever you use DRI, you won't be able to shutdown. That is why on in the Ideas section of this forum, I've asked to have the very latest version of XFree86 (4.3.99) included as it includes a patch that fixes this very problem.

    For now, the only way to do things would be to disable DRI. Comment the line load "dri" in your XF86Config-4 file.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    19
    thank you for your fast reply Viro (what in Finnish means Estonia )

    well, since this is a Debian distro, and has this very convinient function apt-get, can't I just do this:
    apt-get upgrade xfree86

    ???

    I wouldn't like to install Knoppix again tho.

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    95
    If they had a package for XFree86 4.3.99, sure. But at the moment, this doesn't exist. So you'll have to compile from source ( ). that's why I'm now using an nVidia card.

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    19
    I don't think I can afford buying another card at the moment, I would rather buy alot of CD-R's now :P

    Compiling XFree86 from the source. I know this can be hard, but how hard?

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    19
    okay, I have now found out that it is a (timewaste)^23 :P

    altho, well, what would do commenting the dri line? would it make my kde different or something?

    I am still kinda linux n00b so I don't know much

  7. #7
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    95
    Just add a # to the beginning of the line which says load "dri".

    What this does is prevent the DRI module from being loaded, and so you won't use DRI at all. You'll only use DRI if you're running 3D applications that make use of Open GL.

  8. #8
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    19
    heh, I feared that in the bottom of my heart, that's why I asked :P

    I mean, well, games :P TuxRacer :P *me thinks it uses opengl*

    I know about commenting, I have done programming a little so I know it :P

  9. #9
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    95
    Yes, tuxracer makes use of OpenGL and if you have the dri modules loaded, they will be used. Last time, when I played tuxracer with my Radeon 9000 and tried logging out afterwards, not only did my computer hang, it corrupted files on my reiserfs file system too! .

    So you better comment out dri, or make sure you don't use any 3D stuff that might inadverdently make use of dri.

  10. #10
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    19
    damn then,,,, I have ext3, and it's pretty okay atm, altho, I hope my C (NTFS) and D,E(FAT32) will not corrupt because of this.

    and the only way of updating XFree86 would be with the next Knoppix install what would also destroy all data on ext3 and modifications I have made for KDE now?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. logout & logout knoppix
    By chain in forum General Support
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 07-11-2004, 03:16 AM
  2. has the logout feature fixed yet?
    By heathenx in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2003, 01:11 PM
  3. No power-off on logout without remastering?
    By mihael.kukec in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2003, 11:01 PM
  4. Logout != shutdown
    By arkaine23 in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2003, 07:21 PM
  5. Knoppix hangs up at logout (again)
    By viet in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-26-2003, 06:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •