Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Graphical root login-- be fore warned im a total noob --

Member registered user

Graphical root login-- be fore warned im a total noob --

hello all. im brand new at this whole linux thing. im barely 22 years old and i am gettin ready for school. i am goin to be taking linux fundimentals and cyber security. my question is i installed knoppix 5.0.1 onto my box and i want to log into the graphical mode using root. for some reason i get an error message saying knoppix wont allow this action. why and how do i fix that. the reason i want to log in graphicaly is becasue i want to learn hwo to do administration and root actions graphicaly and in the text consoule. im wierd that way. i prefere gui's over text modes. i use windows alot and love the way its set up with the admin. i am having a hard time understanding why most peopl do root or admin actions in text mode. alsoi where can i larn basic stuff for linux. i am currently trying to build a LFS system but half the commands in there i dont understand and the whole mount thing,WTF is that about. I have downloaded a book form the TLDP site and even though the book is labled linux for beginers, it clearly is not becasue i have no clue what he is talking about in there. lol. I DO NOT understand how networking worx with this OS at ALL. where is my network nieboorhood icon so i can see who is on the network.

PLZZZZZ HELP ME. I feel like im in a oblivian of confusion.

thanx sooo much for lettin me speak my mind. but i realy want to learn this stuff and learn it well.

Senior Member registered user
    the fact is that most configurations is just textfiles, that you can do in any way you like, they are usualy fairly informative.
    below i have posted a piece from xorg.conf (the windowslike environment in many distributions), the parts with a # infront are notthing more than information for the user the lines without are the different setings.