Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: working in the chroot environment

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6

    working in the chroot environment

    Hi guys!
    I am working in the chroot environment, i have decided to change the boot graphics and boot message but i am having error message backingup the old logo.
    stat: /mv logo.16 logo.16.backup
    no such directory
    please is there a way out of this. I have done it several times, still getting same messag. i have done all the checks i could think of , same thing....please can someone out there help me on what to do at this stage.
    cheers Abby

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    272

    Re: working in the chroot environment

    Quote Originally Posted by abby
    Hi guys!
    I am working in the chroot environment, i have decided to change the boot graphics and boot message but i am having error message backingup the old logo.
    stat: /mv logo.16 logo.16.backup
    If you state /mv, bash is seeking a directory of that name and can't find it, sure. But 'mv logol.16 logo.16.backup' makes it. Of course you must be in isolinux directory or use full path name.

    Tip. In Knoppix you have Midnight Commander which is started by typing mc. It is the best tool to copy, move, delete files etc.Renaming (moving) is done with F6 function key. Renaming you can do without being in chroot state.


    -tapsa-

Similar Threads

  1. Can't start KDE from CHROOT environment as knoppix user
    By mrpotes in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-14-2007, 12:20 PM
  2. A GNU development environment
    By kynax in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2005, 01:06 PM
  3. path environment
    By roustabout in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-25-2005, 12:54 PM
  4. Environment variables
    By kepler in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2004, 06:04 PM
  5. How to configure the UTF-8 environment?
    By marat in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-08-2004, 11:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •