Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" command

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3

    "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" command

    I would appreciate some advice from someone who's already "been there, done that" with my situation. (Disclaimer: I am familiar with computers, but a TOTAL newbie to Linux/Knoppix!)

    MY SITUATION:
    I have two 160 Gb drives. I need to move the data from one drive to the other. I want to copy EVERYTHING from the "old" drive onto the "new" drive, including boot record info, etc. (I believe this would be called a "sector-by-sector" copy). The drives are from a ReplayTV unit (similar to a Tivo), and therefore have a proprietary drive format and operating system on them, which Knoppix does not seem to recognize (I've tried it a couple times.)

    My current plan is to connect the drives with one as Primary IDE Master (jumpered as Master on the drive), and one as Secondary IDE Slave (or possibly Primary IDE Slave), again with the drive jumpered to Slave. My CD drive is IDE, and is currently running as Secondary IDE Master. I don't know if it can be rejumpered to be a Slave, and I don't know if it would work properly even if I WERE able to jumper it as a Slave. (Obviously, I need to have the CD working in order to run Knoppix off the CD.) I'd rather not mess with rejumpering the CD, but I will if it proves necessary.

    QUESTIONS:
    (1) Is it true that the Knoppix "dd" command will accomplish the transfer I am looking for, even if Knoppix cannot "mount" the drives?

    (2) If so, are there any special parameters I should use in the "dd" command? My current plan is to open a Root window, and type in:
    "dd if=\dev\hda of=\dev\hdb" (assuming that "hda" is the source drive and "hdb" is the target.) Do I need to worry about specifying any partitions, since I want ALL partitions copied to the "new" drive?

    (3) Are there any limitations within Knoppix as to the size of the drive that can be handled this way? (I have installed an add-in IDE controller with a BIOS extension to permit my system to recognize drives over 137 GB, and the controller shows in the boot-up screen that it DOES recognize the drives, at their correct capacity.)

    (4) How can I identify which drive is which from within Knoppix? (i.e. verify that my "old" drive is actually "hda", etc.) One drive will have a lot of data on it and one won't, but I don't know if there's any way for Knoppix to know how much data is on a drive, given that Knoppix can't read the formatting! Would Knoppix's FDISK command return any identifying information, such as the drive's serial number? Are there any other utilities that might help me figure out which is which? (I am reluctant to trust that the Primary IDE Master will be "hda"; should I not be so suspicious?)

    Thanks for your help,
    George

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    818
    1) yes
    2) no
    3) I'm not sure, i don't think so.
    4) hdparm -I /dev/hda will give you the serial number, along with other info.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933

    Re: "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" com

    Quote Originally Posted by geebee2000

    (2) If so, are there any special parameters I should use in the "dd" command? My current plan is to open a Root window, and type in:
    "dd if=\dev\hda of=\dev\hdb" (assuming that "hda" is the source drive and "hdb" is the target.) Do I need to worry about specifying any partitions, since I want ALL partitions copied to the "new" drive?
    That will never work-look at your syntax-it seems very DOS like but this should work for you:
    cat /dev/hda > /dev/hdb

    It works quite well this way.

    /dev/hda= primary master
    /dev/hdb= primary slave
    /dev/hdc= secondary master
    /dev/hdd= secondary slave

    Believe it.

    I don't know if it can be rejumpered to be a Slave
    Sure it can unless it's one of those drives from the outer edge of the galaxy. The primary channel can have one master and one slave. The secondary channel is the same. It doesn't matter which drive is which- for windows compatibility I would leave your windows drive on hda because it will throw a fit about not being on the first drive ( we should have suspected something was up with Bill from day one).

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    818

    Re: "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" com

    Quote Originally Posted by rickenbacherus
    Quote Originally Posted by geebee2000

    (2) If so, are there any special parameters I should use in the "dd" command? My current plan is to open a Root window, and type in:
    "dd if=\dev\hda of=\dev\hdb" (assuming that "hda" is the source drive and "hdb" is the target.) Do I need to worry about specifying any partitions, since I want ALL partitions copied to the "new" drive?
    That will never work-look at your syntax-it seems very DOS like but this should work for you:
    cat /dev/hda > /dev/hdb

    It works quite well this way.
    What's wrong with dd if=\dev\hda of=\dev\hdb ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933

    Re: "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" com

    Quote Originally Posted by eadz
    What's wrong with dd if=\dev\hda of=\dev\hdb ?
    dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/hdb

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    818

    Re: "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" com

    Quote Originally Posted by rickenbacherus
    Quote Originally Posted by eadz
    What's wrong with dd if=\dev\hda of=\dev\hdb ?
    dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/hdb
    Lol. I missed that!

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933

    Re: "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" com

    Quote Originally Posted by eadz
    Lol. I missed that!
    I spent an hour the other night getting video to work. I reseated the card, checked cables, reset the CMOS & NVRAM still nothing- then I checked the power button. It seems that some monitors must actually be ON in order to function.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353

    Re: "Foreign" drive formats and "dd" com

    Quote Originally Posted by rickenbacherus
    Quote Originally Posted by eadz
    What's wrong with dd if=\dev\hda of=\dev\hdb ?
    dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/hdb
    Wow that's scarry. I missed that too. Quite right rickenbacherus - dos like.

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    With regards to this issue I just found a new tool rescuing data on drives that have gone down..

    ddrescue

    What sounds nice about this tool is this:

    Copying this partition with normal Un*x tools like cat or dd will fail, as those tools abort on error. dd_rescue instead will try to read and if it fails, it will go on with the next sectors. The output file naturally will have holes in it, of course. You can write a log file, to see, where all these errors are located.
    At least this way you can get some (most?) of your data back even if you can't get all of it.

    It has also just been put into unstable.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3
    I guess my DOS/Windows ancestry is showing its scaly self!

    I think I have the right "slant" on things now! Thanks for the help, everyone. I'll report back on how it goes. And I'll give "ddrescue" a try as well.

    GB

Similar Threads

  1. Booting problem: "hde: drive not ready for command"
    By MrBigTime in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 11:35 AM
  2. Booting problem: "hde: drive not ready for command"
    By MrBigTime in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 01:42 AM
  3. "Drive not ready for command" error?
    By mco in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2004, 11:16 PM
  4. CD boot hangs on "hde: drive not ready for command"
    By bladeraptor in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-26-2003, 12:11 PM
  5. "Connection Reset by Peer" or "hang"
    By oreo in forum General Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-23-2003, 06:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Knoppix 9.1 Live Linux GNU Bootable USB Flash Drive USA picture

Knoppix 9.1 Live Linux GNU Bootable USB Flash Drive USA

$14.77



Knoppix NSM 1.2 picture

Knoppix NSM 1.2

$10.20



Knoppix Live GNU Linux System 9.1 on Bootable CD / DVD / USB Flash Drive picture

Knoppix Live GNU Linux System 9.1 on Bootable CD / DVD / USB Flash Drive

$9.99



Linux Knoppix 4.0.2 Installation Disc picture

Linux Knoppix 4.0.2 Installation Disc

$39.99



Hamshack Live DVD-ROM picture

Hamshack Live DVD-ROM

$8.50



Knoppix Linux Bootable OS v8.6

Knoppix Linux Bootable OS v8.6 "Original Live Operating System" 16G USB Stick

$19.95



KNOPPIX 9.1 LINUX INSTALL & LIVE DVD picture

KNOPPIX 9.1 LINUX INSTALL & LIVE DVD

$9.99



Acer Aspire One 9 inch Netbook ZG5 512MB RAM 8GB SSD HD Knoppix Linux WiFi VGA picture

Acer Aspire One 9 inch Netbook ZG5 512MB RAM 8GB SSD HD Knoppix Linux WiFi VGA

$79.99



Knoppix Linux Bootable OS v8.6

Knoppix Linux Bootable OS v8.6 "Original Live Operating System" 32G USB Stick

$20.30