Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Trying to restore Grub boot loader using chroot

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland
    Posts
    11

    Trying to restore Grub boot loader using chroot

    In the book by Kyle Rankin: Knoppix - Pocket Reference on page 38 there is described how I could get my system starting by using the grub-configuration of Suse 10.2 installed earlyer and erroneously overwritten. However, I can not do that while running Knoppix 5.1:

    First succesfully
    Code:
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo chroot /mnt/hdb3 grub-install /dev/hdb
    But then
    Code:
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo chroot /mnt/hdb3 grub-install /dev/hdb
    /dev/hdb: Not found or not a block device.
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ ls /dev/hdb
    /dev/hdb
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$
    What is wrong

    I have beem able to copy the /boot/grub/menu.lst for ex. to a floppy but can not put it into the right place although I try all of the shell command I know

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    159
    What do you mean by "1st successfully", then...what? I don't see any difference between your two command lines.
    Do you mean it worked once, then failed on later invocations?

    Anyway, hdb would be the primary slave IDE disk, is this really the one you're trying to boot from?
    If so, assumming /dev/hdb3 is mounted on /mnt/hdb3 (recent versions of knoppix would rather use /media/hdb3, btw)
    then, from a root console (say <Alt><F1> from the live CD), try
    # grub-install --root-directory /mnt/hdb3 /dev/hdb
    this will re-install the grub modules to /mnt/hdb3/boot/grub, and install grub in the MBR of hdb

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by kirol
    What do you mean by "1st successfully"
    Sorry, I have to translate my thoughts from Finnish to English and the result is ...
    This is what happened:
    Code:
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo chroot /mnt/hdb3 grub-install /dev/hdb
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$
    In the Unix and Linux word, if the Shell does not protest, everything is O.K. (or not O.K.)

    Thank you for your kind advice. I try to proceed

  4. #4
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland
    Posts
    11
    I am sorry but I became confused when trying to follow the advice in the "Knoppix Pocket Reference" by Kyle Rankin. The version of Knoppix I have is 5.1. Perhaps I should use an older like 5.0?
    My problem is that I can not get Suse 10.2 to start. It's root directory (/) is on partition hdb3 and there are two other Linuxes on the same hdb, one of them starting. On hda I have WindowsXP and MBR is propably there.

    All this is a bit difficult for me - sorry
    The list hopefully tells what I was trying to do:


    Code:
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ ls -l /mnt/hdb3
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 Jan  6 20:32 /mnt/hdb3 -> /media/hdb3
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ ls -l /media/hdb3
    total 0
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo mount -o /dev/hdb3  /mnt/hdb3
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb3,
           missing codepage or other error
           In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
           dmesg | tail  or so
    
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo mount -o /media/hdb3  /mnt/hdb3
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb3,
           missing codepage or other error
           In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
           dmesg | tail  or so
    
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo grub-install --root-directory /mnt/hdb3 /dev/hda
    Unrecognized option `--root-directory'
    Usage: grub-install [OPTION] install_device
    Install GRUB on your drive.
    
      -h, --help              print this message and exit
      -v, --version           print the version information and exit
      --root-directory=DIR    install GRUB images under the directory DIR
                              instead of the root directory
      --grub-shell=FILE       use FILE as the grub shell
      --no-floppy             do not probe any floppy drive
      --force-lba             force GRUB to use LBA mode even for a buggy
                              BIOS
      --recheck               probe a device map even if it already exists
    
    INSTALL_DEVICE can be a GRUB device name or a system device filename.
    
    grub-install copies GRUB images into the DIR/boot directory specfied by
    --root-directory, and uses the grub shell to install grub into the boot
    sector.
    
    Report bugs to <bug-grub@gnu.org>.
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    159
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo grub-install --root-directory /mnt/hdb3 /dev/hda
    Unrecognized option `--root-directory'
    Usage: grub-install [OPTION] install_device
    Install GRUB on your drive.

    -h, --help print this message and exit
    -v, --version print the version information and exit
    --root-directory=DIR install GRUB images under the directory DIR
    instead of the root directory
    --grub-shell=FILE use FILE as the grub shell
    --no-floppy do not probe any floppy drive
    --force-lba force GRUB to use LBA mode even for a buggy
    BIOS
    --recheck probe a device map even if it already exists

    knoppix@1[knoppix]$
    Sorry my bad - I wasn't under linux when replying, and should have double checked the grub syntax (I forgot the equal sign).
    Try
    # mount /media/hdb3
    Then
    # grub-install --root-directory=/media/hdb3 /dev/hda

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oulu, Finland
    Posts
    11
    Thank you, now it seems to work :D
    If not, I will report. What I did follows:
    Code:
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo mount  /media/hdb3
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$ sudo grub-install --root-directory=/media/hdb3  /dev/hda
    Due to a bug in xfs_freeze, the following command might produce a segmentation
    fault when /media/hdb3/boot/grub is not in an XFS filesystem. This error is harmless and
    can be ignored.
    xfs_freeze: specified file ["/media/hdb3/boot/grub"] is not on an XFS filesystem
    Installation finished. No error reported.
    This is the contents of the device map /media/hdb3/boot/grub/device.map.
    Check if this is correct or not. If any of the lines is incorrect,
    fix it and re-run the script `grub-install'.
    
    (hd1)   /dev/hdb
    (fd0)   /dev/fd0
    (hd2)   /dev/sda
    (hd0)   /dev/hda
    knoppix@1[knoppix]$

Similar Threads

  1. Boot loader problem with XP Pro/Knoppix Dual boot
    By destro in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 11:08 PM
  2. grub boot loader read the boot file from a windows partition
    By cli168 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 03:57 AM
  3. Grub boot loader not finding ipod
    By killem in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2005, 06:45 AM
  4. Lilo loader failed to install...now how to load from GRUB>
    By nxumdon in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2004, 03:38 AM
  5. Grub loader question
    By iamanewbie in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-24-2003, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Cisco  (SG100D-05-UK) 5-Ports External Ethernet Switch picture

Cisco (SG100D-05-UK) 5-Ports External Ethernet Switch

$40.00



HP Procurve 2824 24 Gigabit Ports 10/100/1000 External Managed Switch J4903A picture

HP Procurve 2824 24 Gigabit Ports 10/100/1000 External Managed Switch J4903A

$74.99



Cisco Meraki MS120-48LP 48 Port Blade Ethernet Switch UNCLAIMED picture

Cisco Meraki MS120-48LP 48 Port Blade Ethernet Switch UNCLAIMED

$349.98



Cisco SG110D-08HP 8-Port Gigabit PoE Unmanaged Switch SG110D-08HP-JP picture

Cisco SG110D-08HP 8-Port Gigabit PoE Unmanaged Switch SG110D-08HP-JP

$87.00



HP 2530-48G 48 Port Gigabit Ethernet Network Switch J9775A picture

HP 2530-48G 48 Port Gigabit Ethernet Network Switch J9775A

$30.95



New Linksys SE3005 5-port Gigabit Ethernet Switch picture

New Linksys SE3005 5-port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

$18.99



New 10/100 Mbps 8 Ports Fast Ethernet LAN Desktop RJ45 Network Switch Hub picture

New 10/100 Mbps 8 Ports Fast Ethernet LAN Desktop RJ45 Network Switch Hub

$11.49



NetGear ProSafe GS748T V4 48-Port Gigabit Smart Switch w/ Ears + Cord picture

NetGear ProSafe GS748T V4 48-Port Gigabit Smart Switch w/ Ears + Cord

$30.00



Juniper Networks EX3300-48P 48-Port PoE+ 4x SFP+ Network Switch w/ Power Cord picture

Juniper Networks EX3300-48P 48-Port PoE+ 4x SFP+ Network Switch w/ Power Cord

$43.95



HP Aruba 2530-8G-PoE+ 8x PoE+ RJ45 2x SFP Gigabit Switch J9774A No AC Adapter picture

HP Aruba 2530-8G-PoE+ 8x PoE+ RJ45 2x SFP Gigabit Switch J9774A No AC Adapter

$37.99