Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: After HD install I only get the "grub>" prompt.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    8

    After HD install I only get the "grub>" prompt.

    I want to set up a linux PC for my daughter to watch youtube and since I'm a novice at Knoppix I am trying to get it working.

    I have a similar problem with grub prompt but this info answers some of the previous (basic) questions other users have stated in this thread. I still have problems though. Maybe someone can help me if they get past the problems they were having. Here is what I did:
    1 - booted Knoppix 5.1.1 from CD and performed knoppix-installer
    2 - re-booted from HD (hard disk) and only got the grub> prompt and no menu options
    3 - re-booted from CD and right clicked the desktop icon for hda1 and mounted it (user lotech and others had problem here)
    4 - I right clicked hda1 again a second time and changed the read-write mode to writeable (user lotech and others had problem here)
    5 - I clicked Konsole and entered su (so I could be root user, no password required when booting from CD) (user lotech and others had problem here)
    6 - cd /media/hda1/boot/grub
    7 - ll (to see the file menu.lst, yes I can see it and the size is 0)
    8 - nano menu.lst
    9 - copied the contents of menu.lst from an earlier post in this thread into the menu.lst file
    10 - changed the line with XX in it so the XX was replaced with the letter r to make the word ramdisk_...
    11 - ctrl-x then y then <enter> (to save the file)
    12 - ll (to see that now I have 214 bytes in menu.lst)
    13 - re-booted from HD and at least now I get a menu item when grub runs

    --> but it still doesn't boot.
    It fails the root (hd0,5) line of menu.lst, I get the error "Error 22: No such partition"
    When I ran knoppix-installer, I choose all the defaults except I choose debian like system.
    I'm lost and over my head now. How can I find out what my menu.lst should look like? Are there docs somewhere telling that?
    My new menu.lst looks like:

    title Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.11 Default
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda6 ro ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init apm=power-off nomce quiet vga=791
    initrd /boot/initrd.img
    savedefault
    boot

    The contents of the grub directory are:
    total 180
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 15 Jan 27 02:11 device.map
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 7776 Jan 27 02:11 e2fs_stage1_5
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 7504 Jan 27 02:11 fat_stage1_5
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 8320 Jan 27 02:11 jfs_stage1_5
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 214 Jan 27 03:29 menu.lst
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 7008 Jan 27 02:11 minix_stage1_5
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 9216 Jan 27 02:11 reiserfs_stage1_5
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 512 Jan 27 02:11 stage1
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 108168 Jan 27 02:11 stage2
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 9288 Jan 27 02:11 xfs_stage1_5

    I booted from CD and ran the command: sudo sfdisk -l /dev/hda

    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo sfdisk -l /dev/hda

    Disk /dev/hda: 13328 cylinders, 15 heads, 63 sectors/track
    Warning: The partition table looks like it was made
    for C/H/S=*/255/63 (instead of 13328/15/63).
    For this listing I'll assume that geometry.
    Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

    Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 0+ 746 747- 6000246 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 747 783 37 297202+ 5 Extended
    /dev/hda3 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
    /dev/hda4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
    /dev/hda5 747+ 783 37- 297171 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    I hope I have included enough information so someone can answer my Q: How can I get this HD install to boot? (or at least get past grub).
    This box is an old gateway E-4200, 700 MHz with 128 MB ram.
    I tried booting from the CD with cheatcodes like someone suggested earlier in this thread and it didn't fix the problem.
    I don't know if the developers should know about this so I will let someone else tell them, I hate to bother busy people with trifles.

    This post should help newbies figure out how to write to the hard drive.
    I hope someone can help me to get this HD install to boot because I like the sound on Knoppix 5.1.1, even though I'm still having Adobe FLASH problems.

    Thanks all for your time

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    159
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Colley
    Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 0+ 746 747- 6000246 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 747 783 37 297202+ 5 Extended
    /dev/hda3 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
    /dev/hda4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
    /dev/hda5 747+ 783 37- 297171 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    So Mike, it appears your root filesystem is hda1 and you only have linux installed on that machine (good riddance . Hence you should replace (hd0,5) with (hd0,0) and hda6 with hda1 in your menu.lst, and you should be set.
    boot to command-line mode: "knoppix 2" at the boot prompt, then
    mount /media/hda1
    mcedit /media/hda1/boot/grub/menu.lst
    Not sure about the "youtube" videos - knoppix used to have an "install flash" script, or perhaps you can go for the recently released flash player 9 for linux. Good luck!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    8
    I edited the file menu.lst by booting the Knoppix 5.1.1 CD and editing it. I made only the changes you said to do. This file is the file that was originally missing from the Knoppix 5.1.1 HD install. I copied this file from another post here on the Knoppix forum, so I don't know what version this file was originally from.

    The file menu.lst now looks like:

    title Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.11 Default
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 ro ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init apm=power-off nomce quiet vga=791
    initrd /boot/initrd.img
    savedefault
    boot

    The grub loader got farther, good progress!
    Now it makes "Error 15: File not found" on the "initrd /boot/initrd.img" line
    It made it to the fourth line, great progress.

    I booted from CD then su then looked for the file initrd.img with: "find /. -name initrd.img" and it wasn't anywhere to be found. Possibly it isn't part of 5.1.1???
    grub makes the error and stops, but it did get farther than it did before! That means I didn't get to the boot screen yet so I couldn't boot yet from HD.

    Thanks for the help so far, the PC has gotten a lot farther now.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    159
    Check what mini-root image you have under /boot, Mike, that's the one you should reference from menu.lst
    ll /media/hda1/boot/*ini*
    (perhaps minirt.gz but I can't say for sure as I am replying from erh... some other operating system)

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    8
    Hi kirol, Thanks so far
    Booting from Knoppix 5.1.1 CD, here is what I get in that subdirectory, maybe the mini-root image file is missing from /boot???

    knoppix@Knoppix:/media/hda1/boot$ ll
    total 3514
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 Jan 27 01:57 System.map -> System.map-2.6.19
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 964483 Dec 17 16:03 System.map-2.6.19
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 308326 Dec 18 22:06 coffee.bmp
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 76434 Dec 17 16:00 config-2.6.19
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 Jan 27 01:57 debian.bmp -> /boot/sid.bmp
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 153720 Dec 18 22:06 debianlilo.bmp
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 352 Jan 27 02:11 grub
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 512 Jan 27 02:11 knoppix-old-mbr.2007-01-27
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 23662 Dec 18 22:06 sarge.bmp
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 24116 Dec 18 22:06 sid.bmp
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 14 Jan 27 02:11 vmlinuz -> vmlinuz-2.6.19
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2029901 Dec 17 16:03 vmlinuz-2.6.19

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    159
    Actually it might be possible to boot without a minirt at all, if you don't need special drivers while booting. Try to simpy comment the inirtd line (prefix it with a hash '#') sign.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    8
    Well, it did get farther, here is what it says booting from HD:
    Pinguin is in the top left corner (I forget his name)
    INIT version 2.86 booting
    Welcome to KNOPPIX (HD installation)
    Enabling DMA Accelleration for hda: [Quantum Fireball EX6.4A]
    Enabling DMA Accelleration for hdc: [CD-RW BCE5224IM]
    Found hardware profile in /etc/modules-2.6.19.
    Copying hardware profile to /etc/modules.
    * udev requires a mounted sysfs, not started.
    failed!
    Activating swap...request_module: runaway loop modprobe binfmt-0000
    request_module: runaway loop modprobe binfmt-0000
    request_module: runaway loop modprobe binfmt-0000
    request_module: runaway loop modprobe binfmt-0000
    request_module: runaway loop modprobe binfmt-0000

    I'm going to have to pick this up tomorrow, thanks for all you have done! - Mike

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    159
    Sigh, yes as you've discovered knoppix is not really fit for the HD, and its installer seems in a sorry state (I haven't used it myself in a good while). One last thing you might want to try is copy the minirt.gz from the CD, then reference it from your menu.lst:
    # mount /media/hda1
    # cp /cdrom/boot/isolinux/minirt.gz /media/hda1/boot
    (then uncomment the initrd line)
    # mcedit /media/hda1/boot/grub/menu.lst
    ... and if that fails, I am afraid i am running out of suggestions!

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    122
    I can confirm that installing Flash9 for Linux works for viewing YouTube movies

    I have never tried a HD boot with the minirt from the CD but I would bet that it wont work... although it may

    If you dont have any luck there PM me with your email adress and I'll send you my minirt that should get you booting. I think the current installer doesnt always create the Initrd as it should.


    Anyways, Let me know
    -Justin
    One Mynds Eye

Similar Threads

  1. black screen with only the word "GRUB" on Dell Ins
    By blizzardscout2 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2008, 03:23 AM
  2. "Kernel Panic" in GRUB after HD install
    By bplmusic in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2006, 04:23 PM
  3. Knoppix 3.7 HDD install ends in a "grub>" promp
    By minghai in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 10:03 PM
  4. Debian install "end session" & "shutdown/
    By ihcnut in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-26-2004, 09:26 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-18-2004, 11:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •