Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: [FIX] KNOPPIX not showing correct language / Timezone fix

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    122

    [FIX] KNOPPIX not showing correct language / Timezone fix

    This fix should allow ALL applications to show the correct language (the language you specify at boot by the lang= cheatcode). This behavior shows up most often in things that are executed through kdesu or gksu.

    First lets backup your /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig. From a terminal window issue this command as root:
    Code:
    cp /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig-BACKUP

    Youll need to edit your /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig as follows.

    In a Terminal Window:
    Code:
    sudo kwrite /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig

    Find the section that looks like:
    Code:
    ### localization
    # Allow language specification via commandline. The default language
    # will be overridden via "lang=de" boot commandline
    # Default is now US
    LANGUAGE="$(getbootparam lang 2>/dev/null)"
    [ -n "$LANGUAGE" ] || LANGUAGE="us"
    
    # The default language/keyboard to use. This CANNOT be autoprobed.
    # Most of these variables will be used to generate the KDE defaults
    # and will be inserted into /etc/sysconfig/* below.
    case "$LANGUAGE" in
    de)
    # German version
    COUNTRY="de"
    LANG="de_DE@euro"
    KEYTABLE="de-latin1-nodeadkeys"
    XKEYBOARD="de"
    KDEKEYBOARD="de(nodeadkeys)"
    CHARSET="iso8859-15"
    # Additional KDE Keyboards
    KDEKEYBOARDS="us,fr"
    TZ="Europe/Berlin"
    ;;
    Youll notice that this section contains every lang= cheatcode that knoppix understands... Add this line towards the end of the section where youll find the following lines:
    Code:
    *)
    # American version
    LANGUAGE="us"
    COUNTRY="us"
    LANG="C"
    KEYTABLE="us"
    XKEYBOARD="us"
    KDEKEYBOARD="us"
    CHARSET="iso8859-1"
    # Additional KDE Keyboards
    KDEKEYBOARDS="de(nodeadkeys),fr"
    TZ="America/New_York"
    ;;
    esac
    
    # Export it now, so error messages get translated, too
    export LANG COUNTRY CHARSET
    insert this line just below the last line shown above. (right below " export LANG COUNTRY CHARSET ")
    Code:
    # Write the chosen language to default (/etc/default/locale) to be sure that the system selects your chosen
    # Language for all applications
    update-locale LANG=$LANG 2>/dev/null

    Thats it! all fixed.


    While we are at it we'll make the lang= cheatcode alittle more efficient by making the timezone configurable through /etc/sysconfig/timezone. This is needed for alot of people because the timezone is reset at every boot and the default timezone for a given locale might not suit everyone. For instance lang=us defaults to the New York timezone... so we will make it settable through the file /etc/sysconfig/timezone

    Right below the last line we added.... add the following:
    Code:
    # Since the Default Timezone for a given locale may not suit every ones needs we will check to see if we can read 
    # it from sysconfig again to make it more user configurable
    if [ -f /etc/sysconfig/timezone ]; then
      TZ=$(cat /etc/sysconfig/timezone)
      export TZ
    fi
    Save and quit... all done!

    Now if the /etc/sysconfig/timezone file exists the timezone will be set by the value contained in this file.... mine looks like this for the Central US Timezone:
    Code:
    onemyndseye@exodus:~$ cat /etc/sysconfig/timezone
    America/Chicago


    Hope this helps
    -Justin
    One Mynds Eye

  2. #2

    Change <language> hd installed <from - to> Ex: q

    Hey,

    I have everything in english from a hd install except for, "Qparted".

    KISS <Keep it simple su>:

    reverend@knoppix:~$ su
    Password:
    root@knoppix:/home/reverend# cat /etc/default/locale
    # File generated by update-locale
    LANG=de_DE@euro
    root@knoppix:/home/reverend# pico /etc/default/locale
    root@knoppix:/home/reverend# cat /etc/default/locale
    # File generated by update-locale
    LANG=LANG=en_US
    root@knoppix:/home/reverend# exit
    exit
    reverend@knoppix:~$

    Begin/w an...

    Open Shell
    Su
    Enter Password
    cat /etc/default/locale
    pico /etc/default/locale
    Change:
    LANG=de_DE@euro
    to
    LANG=LANG=en_US
    ctrl+shift O ...not numeric
    enter
    ctrl x

    Bare Bones:
    replace <de_DE@euro> with <LANG=en_US> or <your choice of language> after LANG=


    qparted to <your LANG=

    It works!

    Best Regards,


    Reverend Hamer

Similar Threads

  1. Timezone don't work in knoppix-autoconfig
    By tr in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 11:25 AM
  2. Knoppix HD autoconfiguration (timezone)
    By pavel7nl in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2005, 09:57 PM
  3. system timezone setting: more 'knoppix-like' suggestions?
    By olivers in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2004, 10:07 PM
  4. Getting the timezone correct
    By el_supremo in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-18-2004, 10:19 PM
  5. Is my KNOPPIX CD correct?
    By alex+ in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-26-2003, 06:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Vintage ATARI MEGA ST 2 POWERS ON picture

Vintage ATARI MEGA ST 2 POWERS ON

$139.99



Vintage Atari 400 Computer System w/ Atari 410 Program Recorder picture

Vintage Atari 400 Computer System w/ Atari 410 Program Recorder

$110.00



Atari 1050 5.25

Atari 1050 5.25" Floppy Disk Drive w/ CO17945 Power Adaptor - Powers On

$49.99



Atari 1090XL Reproduction Main Board with two cards. picture

Atari 1090XL Reproduction Main Board with two cards.

$249.42



Atari 400/800/XL/XE Computer SIO2PC - PC/Mac Disk Drive Emulator Adapter/Device picture

Atari 400/800/XL/XE Computer SIO2PC - PC/Mac Disk Drive Emulator Adapter/Device

$15.25



Atari 130xe Computer Case (no keyboard, no motheboard) picture

Atari 130xe Computer Case (no keyboard, no motheboard)

$40.00



Atari FujiNet 800/XL/XE/XEGS (Devkit Version using 8 MB ESP32-DevKitC-VE board) picture

Atari FujiNet 800/XL/XE/XEGS (Devkit Version using 8 MB ESP32-DevKitC-VE board)

$58.00



Atari 600XL Computer Bundle TESTED WORKING With Cassette Recorder Atariwriter picture

Atari 600XL Computer Bundle TESTED WORKING With Cassette Recorder Atariwriter

$161.95



A8picoCart Atari 130 / 65 XE 800 / 1200 XL XEGS multicart UnoCart clone game picture

A8picoCart Atari 130 / 65 XE 800 / 1200 XL XEGS multicart UnoCart clone game

$32.95



Atari 800xl  E X C E L L E N T  condition.  Atarimax with Games picture

Atari 800xl E X C E L L E N T condition. Atarimax with Games

$250.00