Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Network bridge

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Network bridge

    I pretty much give up on getting knoppix to run any wireless card i try. So, is what im going to try to do now is to use a bridge off my existing wireless connection in the house. My thinking on this is that it wil eliminate the need for any wireless junk hooked up to the computer. In a sense it will be like its hardwired to the cable modem. Is this correct? and would it work and be easier than going wireless?

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    35

    Re: Network bridge

    Quote Originally Posted by sturoe
    I pretty much give up on getting knoppix to run any wireless card i try. So, is what im going to try to do now is to use a bridge off my existing wireless connection in the house. My thinking on this is that it wil eliminate the need for any wireless junk hooked up to the computer. In a sense it will be like its hardwired to the cable modem. Is this correct? and would it work and be easier than going wireless?
    Depends but unlikely. I used to have an Ethernet-WiFi bridge (under Windows), then when that WiFi adapter failed, I discovered that most WiFi adapters (drivers) are incapable of wrapping 802.3 (Ethernet) frames into 802.11 frames. So, check out the verdict on your adapter (via Google) and keep your fingers crossed. As I recall, the most likely supported adapters were Orinoco (I also got those going under FBSD a while back) and Prism-chipset adapters....

  3. #3
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441
    I have to give a completely different opnion. If you are using the term bridge correctly, to mean a wifi bridge that can connect to a wifi access point (such as usually contained in a wifi router), them absolutely this should work just fine. The wifi bridge will connect to the access point (after it is correctly set up) and will provide you an ethernet connection to the rest of your network. It will look just like you connected to the network by ethernet, no wifi setup will be needed and the system will basically be unaware that it is using wifi at all.

    It's worth mention that most routers and access points can't be used as bridges, although some can, sometimes only into the same model device. A true wifi bridge should connect to any compatable access point, but these devices are not as common in the stores and so are usually more expensive than the now very inexpensive wifi routers and access points.

    And I have to agree with the original conclusion, Knoppix 5 is completely useless for wifi for me, although version 4.02 did work with one of my adapters (but not others that are well supported by Puppy Linux and Mandriva). I resorted to just running a cable to another room since I didn't have a bridge or a router that would function as one.
    ---
    Verifying of md5 checksum and burning a CD at slow speed are important.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    7
    Well something you can do is get a WRT54GL router or a WRT54G that is less than v5. Install DDWRT on it and set it up for client bridge mode. I am currently using to connect my xbox 360 to the wireless network.

Similar Threads

  1. ethernet - WiFi bridge
    By Pihkal in forum Networking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-30-2006, 09:50 PM
  2. Use of wireless bridge
    By mikemz in forum Networking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-08-2004, 05:32 PM
  3. looking for wireless bridge
    By aureoleday in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2004, 11:12 AM
  4. usb to ethernet bridge
    By Bertje in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-29-2004, 10:16 AM
  5. Knoppix as a wireless bridge?
    By adamm in forum Networking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-06-2003, 06:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •