Thread: Using Partition Magic version 8 to setup Knoppix Partition

Using Partition Magic version 8 to setup Knoppix Partition

Hi I'm fairly new to Linux.

I've ran several of the live CDs before and am ready to install linux on either a partition or
    a second hard drive.

I am running a Gateway GM 5076E. It has a 500 GB hard drive partitioned into two sections.
    One is the C. drive and has about 475 GB and the recovery partition drive D. has about 25 GB.

I purchased a copy of Partition Magic version 8. Is it possible to resize the C. drive down by 40 GB
    and use that unallocated 40 GB for a bootable linux version of Knoppix? I ordered the current DVD version
    yesterday along with the most recent version of FreeBSD. As I understand it from my readings hard drive
    can have up to four primary partitions that can be booted from.

Can I have Windows XP Media Center, linux, FreeBSD, and perhaps FreeDOS all installed on their own
    bootable partitions?

Would love to be able to install a second hard drive and install the latter three on it.

Only my new Gateway has one of those Raid controllers and a Raid hard drive. All the three internal
    connections and only connects to that type of drive. The problem is all of my other previous hard drives
    were all enhanced IDE. The computer does not seem to any connections for those types of drives.
    Is there anything on the market that would allow me to connect a Raid cable today enhanced IDE
    drive. I've tested "Smart Boot Manager" in the past on older machines to decide which drive
    gets booted from. The computer I'm using now wouldn't you know didn't come with a floppy drive.
    So I can't write "Smart Boot Manager" to the boot segment. It's impossible to do it by writing
    it to the partition Windows sets on (NTFS). Could I install it to the D. recovery drive?
    It sets on a 40 GB Fat32 partition. I'm not really sure if the computer actually boots off of