Thread: Please - Need help with Linux kernel headers

Please - Need help with Linux kernel headers

Hi.
    I'm new in Linux.

I want to install Aircrack-ng on my laptop.
    The wireless card I have is Realink with rt61 chipset.

I downloaded Knoppix and run it as live cd then I downloaded the rt2570 driver according to the instructions:
    http://aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=newbie_guide

Problem is that when I try to compile the driver with "make" I receive error.

I checked and it seems that I need the Linux kernel headers .
    Is it possible to install it with Knoppix live CD or must I install full Linux on my laptop ?

Thanks

Senior Member registered user
    Youll need the DVD release if you want to keep running in a LiveCD.... and even then it still may not compile when running "Live"

otherwise you can install the CD version to your HD and upack and setup the kernel source-tree from ftp.kernel.org

Take Care,
    -Justin
    One Mynds Eye

Quote Originally Posted by onemyndseye
    Youll need the DVD release if you want to keep running in a LiveCD....
    Does that mean the CD version cannot be extended with new packages, drivers, etc. that are only available as source?

I have a similar problem installing the slmodemd driver for my winmodem (soon to be linmodem ). The pre-compiled version requires Glib 2.4 but Knoppix 5.1.1 has version 2.3.6. The installation notes indicate that for kernal 2.6 I have to download the full source tree not just the kernal headers.

If the only way is a hard drive install, can I get away with a poor mans install? (tohd/fromhd)

I was thinking before that maybe I could upgrade glib but after reading this thread it seems that would not be the best way to go, is that correct?

Thanks,
    Walter

In theory it should with with poor mans install since you wouldnt be mounting a "Persistant Home" and changes to the unionfs would be written there..... but it doesnt always work out this way