Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: knoppix doesn't boot

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    knoppix doesn't boot

    dear friends,

    i'm using a cpu with intel pentium D processor. i tried to boot knoppix 5.0 from the dvd drive so that i can retrieve the files from the linux hardisk installed in the cpu. this is slave drive with a primary drive having a windows OS. the cd boot a while but i noticed that the knoppix images are just blank and not visible. when the gui of knoppix is supposed to show up the monitor went blank and the light indicators just below the screen flash on and off continuously.

    i tried this to other cpu with the same capability and the result is the same. but on older cpu there is no problem. is this a support problem with the new intel pentium D. what is the remedy for this?

    thank you for any help on this matter.

    sincerely,

    ramon

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    348
    See: http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27218

    If you have similar hardware to the systems mentioned in the above thread, try the cheat code: "knoppix xmodule=vesa"

  3. #3
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441
    While we were not told what the video card is, so we can't know if it's supported, it sounds to me more like the monior is being pushed beyond it's scan rate capability. Using the cheat codes to force the scan rates within the monitor's spec seems to be a likely fix.
    ---
    Verifying of md5 checksum and burning a CD at slow speed are important.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    dear harry & ckamin,

    thank you for your time in making your suggestion. i typed knoppix xmodule=vesa after boot when i loaded the knoppix cd and it worked. i sent this message to you through knoppix 5.0

    what's the magic behind knoppix xmodule=vesa?

    thanks again.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    348
    rporticio,

    The cheat code "knoppix xmodule=vesa" simply appears to define a more generic graphics hardware device and driver than Knoppix may have detected during the boot process. It seems that the current versions are having a little trouble with certain graphics adaptors. The "black screen" is a good indicator that the graphics adaptor is not set up correctly in Knoppix and the xmodule=vesa cheatcode seems to be a decent workaround. There may be some resulting issues with the display while doing so, but it's usually workable.

Similar Threads

  1. Boot loader problem with XP Pro/Knoppix Dual boot
    By destro in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 11:08 PM
  2. Knoppix/Win2K Dual Boot using boot.ini
    By doesnotcompute in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-2005, 07:29 PM
  3. installed kanotix to hdb, lost boot option to boot knoppix
    By helios17 in forum General Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-27-2004, 06:27 AM
  4. using knoppix on multi-boot CD's (boot scriptor)
    By ebone in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-16-2003, 02:26 AM
  5. Remastering Error: Can't Find Boot Image KNOPPIX/boot.img
    By mswarbrick in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-18-2003, 12:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •