Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37

Thread: fstab files from other installations

  1. #11
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    Well, thanks for this, I did all of that, but I am still having trouble finding them, they don't appear on anything that I can find - sorry to be slow on this, but I still can't work out how to access them.
    Here is my fstab, I am fairly sure this just isn't set up right...
    Thanks,



    # /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
    #
    # filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
    /dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/hda5 none swap sw 0 0

    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/floppy /floppy vfat defaults,user,showexec,umask=022 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec 0 0
    /dev/dvd /mnt/dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec 0 0
    # partitions found by Knoppix
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ntfs auto,users,exec,ro,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    #/dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppi x 0 0
    #/dev/hda3 /mnt/hda3 ext3 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    /dev/hda6 /mnt/hda6 vfat auto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppi x 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    OK, so I have the DVD/CDRW working now, as /mnt/dvd, but CDRW also links to that. I am confused as to how to distinguish the devices, since every mountpoint is pointing to the same thing.

    I'm please to have got anything to point to anything, but what it says is the dvd is actually the cdrw... Arrghhh....

  3. #13
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by Tortoise
    # /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
    #
    # filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
    /dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/hda5 none swap sw 0 0

    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/floppy /floppy vfat defaults,user,showexec,umask=022 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec 0 0
    /dev/dvd /mnt/dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec 0 0
    # partitions found by Knoppix
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ntfs auto,users,exec,ro,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    #/dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppi x 0 0
    #/dev/hda3 /mnt/hda3 ext3 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    /dev/hda6 /mnt/hda6 vfat auto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppix 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000,uid=knoppix,gid=knoppi x 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    You currently have these mount points right?
    hda1 hda2 hda3 hda6 sda
    You need to make some more mount points my friend. Look closely at your fstab- the format is like this:

    filesystem mountpoint type

    So, applying that to the following line from your fstab

    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec 0 0


    /dev/cdrom is your filesystem

    /mnt/cdrom is your mount point

    iso9660 is the type

    But you don't have /dev/cdrom OR /mnt/cdrom do you? You just need to make the symbolic link to your cdrom like this:

    Code:
    ln -s /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrom
    ls -al /dev/cdrom
    What is /dev/cdrom really pointing to now? Post it please.

    You also need to create the mount point /mnt/cdrom. fstab is trying to mount /dev/cdrom to a mount point that does not exist. That'll never work. As root, do this:

    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/cdrom
    cd /mnt
    ls
    Now your mount points should look like this:
    hda1 hda2 hda3 hda6 sda cdrom
    Post your mount points please.

    If everything above went smoothly now fstab will mount /dev/cdrom (which is actually /dev/scd0)on the mount point /mnt/cdrom.

    If everything above went smoothly......
    As root, do this:
    Code:
    mount -t auto /dev/cdrom
    cd /mnt/cdrom
    ls
    Also let me remind you that you CANNOT mount an audio cd because it has no filesystem on it. Additionally, you can't mount an empty drive because............there's no filesystem in an empty drive either. So anytime you want to mount a cdrom you need to have a data cd in i the drive.

  4. #14
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by Tortoise
    OK, so I have the DVD/CDRW working now, as /mnt/dvd, but CDRW also links to that. I am confused as to how to distinguish the devices, since every mountpoint is pointing to the same thing.

    I'm please to have got anything to point to anything, but what it says is the dvd is actually the cdrw... Arrghhh....
    Ah yes the joys of symlinks. As root do this:

    Code:
    ls -al /dev/dvd
    ls -al /dev/cdrom
    Post the output please. You're almost there. Soon you''ll understand- fear not!

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    ls -al /dev/dvd -> /dev/cdrom
    ls -al /dev/cdrom -> sr0
    ls -al /dev/cdrw -> /dev/scd0

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    [quote="rickenbacherus"]
    Quote Originally Posted by Tortoise

    Code:
    ln -s /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrom
    ls -al /dev/cdrom
    What is /dev/cdrom really pointing to now? Post it please.
    OK, so:

    ln -s /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrom
    [ln: '/dev/cdrom': File exists

    ls -al /dev/cdrom
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 May 28 23:24 /dev/cdrom -> sr0

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    It looks as though I may have confused you.

    As root do this:
    ls -al /dev/scd0
    ls -al /dev/scd1


    Then, still as root do this:

    rm /dev/dvd
    rm /dev/cdrw
    rm /dev/cdrom


    It will ask if you're sure- yes.

    ln -s /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrom
    ls -al /dev/cdrom
    ln -s /dev/scd1 /dev/dvd
    ls -al /dev/dvd


    Post the entire screen please.

  8. #18
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    [quote="rickenbacherus"]
    Quote Originally Posted by Tortoise

    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/cdrom
    cd /mnt
    ls
    Now your mount points should look like this:
    hda1 hda2 hda3 hda6 sda cdrom
    Post your mount points please.
    cd /mnt
    ls

    cdrom cdrw dvd floppy hda1 hda2 hda3 hda6 sda

  9. #19
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by Tortoise
    cd /mnt
    ls

    cdrom cdrw dvd floppy hda1 hda2 hda3 hda6 sda
    Excellent!-You're on the home stretch.

  10. #20
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    Sorry, really stupid question, I am in a shell as root, I select copy text, and then when I go to paste it into Knoppix, I there is no paste. How do I do that?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. sysv-rc error preventing package installations - help...
    By yekibud in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2005, 10:35 AM
  2. driver installations don't do anything or don't work
    By splittik in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 05:48 AM
  3. Problem when moving New Fstab to the Old Fstab to fix Suse
    By cheetahman in forum General Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 11:58 AM
  4. fstab
    By rmayer1 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-23-2003, 08:17 AM
  5. Misc. Installations: Seismic Unix/gnuplot
    By g-ahmadi in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2003, 12:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Lot of 10pcs Brocade 57-1000012-01 8Gbps SWL 850nm SFP+ Optical Transceivers picture

Lot of 10pcs Brocade 57-1000012-01 8Gbps SWL 850nm SFP+ Optical Transceivers

$19.00



Cisco QSFP-100G-LR4-S 100GBASE-LR4 QSFP28, 1310nm, 10km, LC, SMF picture

Cisco QSFP-100G-LR4-S 100GBASE-LR4 QSFP28, 1310nm, 10km, LC, SMF

$335.99



Cisco SFP-10/25G-CSR-S 10/25GBASE-CSR SFP28, 850nm, 100m, LC,  picture

Cisco SFP-10/25G-CSR-S 10/25GBASE-CSR SFP28, 850nm, 100m, LC,

$54.00



Silicom (PE210G2SPI9A-XR) 10Gb Dual Port SFP+ PCIe Ethernet Adapter Low Profile picture

Silicom (PE210G2SPI9A-XR) 10Gb Dual Port SFP+ PCIe Ethernet Adapter Low Profile

$19.99



Genuine Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Transceiver Module 10-2415-03  picture

Genuine Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Transceiver Module 10-2415-03

$8.00



NEW Sealed Cisco SFP-10G-LR 10GBASE-LR SFP+ 1310nm 10km *US Shipping* picture

NEW Sealed Cisco SFP-10G-LR 10GBASE-LR SFP+ 1310nm 10km *US Shipping*

$18.00



Brand New Cisco GLC-LH-SMD 1000BASE-LX/LH SFP Module 1310nm 10km SMF LC picture

Brand New Cisco GLC-LH-SMD 1000BASE-LX/LH SFP Module 1310nm 10km SMF LC

$13.89



Cisco GLC-SX-MMD SFP 1000Base-SX Short Haul  Module 10-2626-01 - 1 Year Warranty picture

Cisco GLC-SX-MMD SFP 1000Base-SX Short Haul Module 10-2626-01 - 1 Year Warranty

$21.49



LOT OF 20 Genuine Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Transceiver Module picture

LOT OF 20 Genuine Cisco SFP-10G-SR V03 10GBASE-SR SFP+ Transceiver Module

$89.00



10 PCS Cisco GLC-LH-SMD 10-2625-01 1310nm SFP Transceiver Module picture

10 PCS Cisco GLC-LH-SMD 10-2625-01 1310nm SFP Transceiver Module

$85.00