Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: fstab files from other installations

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154

    fstab files from other installations

    I have an fstab file from a Mandrake installation that works well, and always had trouble with my Knoppix one. I like Knoppix better than Mandrake, but is it a problem to keep my Madrake fstab, or will that shag things?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Depends- are your partitions and mount points the same? Just keep this in mind: When you change something like /etc/fstab before you do anything back it up- you can always restore it that way if you hose something up.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    Quote Originally Posted by rickenbacherus
    Depends- are your partitions and mount points the same? Just keep this in mind: When you change something like /etc/fstab before you do anything back it up- you can always restore it that way if you hose something up.
    The partitions are the same, but the mount points were never right under Knoppix, which is why I want to use the MAndrake FSTAB file. Is that all there is to it though, or is there another file that describes the drives?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by Tortoise
    The partitions are the same, but the mount points were never right under Knoppix, which is why I want to use the MAndrake FSTAB file. Is that all there is to it though, or is there another file that describes the drives?
    You can mount any of your drives to any mount point you like, example:

    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/stupid

    As long as you have a mount point named 'stupid' it will mount there. Let's say your fstab looks like this:

    # /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
    #
    # filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
    /dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,auto 0 0

    The first part '/dev/hda1' for example is the block device or filesystem you want to mount. The second part- '/' is the mount point that fstab will mount /dev/hda1 to.

    Another example: '/dev/cdrom' is the block device- '/cdrom' is the mount point but if '/cdrom' doesn't exist then it can't be mounted there right?

    Do this:

    Code:
    cd /mnt
    ls
    The screen output lists your mount points. You can make mount points if you need to like this:

    Code:
    # mkdir /mnt/cdrom
    Now do this:

    Code:
    cd /mnt
    ls
    You should see your new mount point listed. If you need some help getting /etc/fstab to work post it. Also post your mount points. Just copying over your fstab from another distro likely won't work- you'll still have to make some adjustments but it's not that hard once you get the idea of mount points.

  5. #5
    My fstab looks like:
    # /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
    #
    # filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
    /dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/hda3 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/hda2 /music ext3 defaults 2 1
    /dev/hda4 /home/rob/stuff ext3 defaults 2 1
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Do this:

    Code:
    cd /mnt
    ls
    Post the output.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    Quote Originally Posted by rickenbacherus
    Do this:

    Code:
    cd /mnt
    ls
    Post the output.
    knoppix@Milo:~$ cd /mnt
    knoppix@Milo:mnt$ ls
    hda1 hda2 hda3 hda6 sda

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Tortoise-
    Now we know that you have the mount points:
    hda1 hda2 hda3 hda6 sda

    Your fstab needs to use these mount points. If you need different mount points then make them like so:

    cd /mnt
    mkdir cdrom


    I just used cdrom as an example but surely you'll want a mount point named cdrom right? You can make any mount point you want.

    After creating /mnt/cdrom do this:

    ls

    You should now have these mount points:
    hda1 hda2 hda3 hda6 sda cdrom

    Post your fstab if you need more help.

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    Ok, so I understand how to create mountpoints now, but as far as I can see they are just directories which point to a physical drive or something like one.
    How do I know what my real drives are called ie, I can create mountpoint for my two cdrws, but unless they point to the real things, they won't work - is there a command to tellme what linux is calling my different drives so that I can hook them up?
    I am having the same trouble with my usb floppy, which I also cannot find!
    Thanks for the help,

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by Tortoise
    How do I know what my real drives are called ie,
    dmesg | less

    I can create mountpoint for my two cdrws, but unless they point to the real things, they won't work - is there a command to tellme what linux is calling my different drives so that I can hook them up?
    If you have cdr or cdrw drives then you'll need to use SCSI emulation. Since you booted the Knoppix cd and installed I'm sure it is already set up that way. Do this:

    cat /proc/scsi/scsi

    Now you should see your cdrw drives. Actually you'll see everything on the SCSI BUS.

    0,0,0 - CDRW
    0,1,0 - DVD

    (Those are just examples- your mileage may vary) You can call your drives anything you like which makes things alot easier. Here's how:

    ln -s /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrw

    Translated literally ln link -s symbolicly/dev/scd0 the actual name of your cdrw /dev/cdrw the name of your new symbolic link.

    Now for the test to see what /dev/cdrw really points to do this:
    ls -al /dev/cdrw

    It should now indicate that /dev/dvdrw is actually nothing more than a symbolic link to the actual device of /dev/scd0

    I am having the same trouble with my usb floppy, which I also cannot find!
    Thanks for the help,
    OK USB floppy should be 1,0,0 on the SCSI bus. Do this:

    cat /proc/scsi/scsi

    -OR-

    cdrecord -scanbus

    to be certain.

    Then do this:

    ln -s /dev/sda1 /dev/floppy

    Again then:

    ls -al /dev/floppy

    Should tell you that /dev/floppy is really just a symbolic link (a representation if you will) of /dev/sda1

    Make sense?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. sysv-rc error preventing package installations - help...
    By yekibud in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2005, 10:35 AM
  2. driver installations don't do anything or don't work
    By splittik in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 05:48 AM
  3. Problem when moving New Fstab to the Old Fstab to fix Suse
    By cheetahman in forum General Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 11:58 AM
  4. fstab
    By rmayer1 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-23-2003, 08:17 AM
  5. Misc. Installations: Seismic Unix/gnuplot
    By g-ahmadi in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2003, 12:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Atari 800 Computer W/ Atari 810 Disk Drive Game Cartridge 100 Working Condition picture

Atari 800 Computer W/ Atari 810 Disk Drive Game Cartridge 100 Working Condition

$269.00



Atari 820 Printer for Atari Computers 400 800 600XL 800XL 1200XL 130XE picture

Atari 820 Printer for Atari Computers 400 800 600XL 800XL 1200XL 130XE

$300.00



Atari Power Cube 800XL, 600XL, 65XE, 130XE  USB-C Power Supply PSU picture

Atari Power Cube 800XL, 600XL, 65XE, 130XE USB-C Power Supply PSU

$11.25



Atari 400/800/XL/XE Computer SIO2PC - PC/Mac Disk Drive Emulator Adapter/Device picture

Atari 400/800/XL/XE Computer SIO2PC - PC/Mac Disk Drive Emulator Adapter/Device

$15.25



RARE San Jose Computer Special Edition 810 5 1/4

RARE San Jose Computer Special Edition 810 5 1/4" Floppy Disc Drive Atari 8-bit

$200.00



A8picoCart Atari 130 / 65 XE 800 / 1200 XL XEGS multicart UnoCart clone game picture

A8picoCart Atari 130 / 65 XE 800 / 1200 XL XEGS multicart UnoCart clone game

$32.95



atari stacy picture

atari stacy

$3599.00



Atari 600XL, 800XL, 65XE, 130XE USB Power Cable - 3 ft. picture

Atari 600XL, 800XL, 65XE, 130XE USB Power Cable - 3 ft.

$20.00



Atari Retro Gaming Kit for Raspberry Pi 3 picture

Atari Retro Gaming Kit for Raspberry Pi 3

$70.00



Atari 130XE Personal Retro Gaming Computer PC Complete in Original Box picture

Atari 130XE Personal Retro Gaming Computer PC Complete in Original Box

$299.99